How practical is a 6.8m MH? (1 Viewer)

May 8, 2010
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2010
Hi
Flushed with the success of gaining useful responses to my previous post, here I go again. Looking at the Burstner Delfin for the two of us and our two Dalmatians. It seems to tick all the boxes - fixed bed, low profile, non-Fiat base, plenty of floor space for dogs. As complete beginners, though, we're wondering whether there are any problems/difficulties in the day-to-day driving of a 6.8m vehicle as opposed to a shorter one? For example - what's it like to park on car parks? Any problems driving in towns abroad or in UK? My OH has test driven the Delfin, and liked it, but are we being needlessly cautious about the length? Swings and roundabouts, I know. In order to get the floor space in a fixed bed vehicle we can't really go for anything shorter. Our only other option would be 'A' class - or leave the Dallies behind! (Only joking). All views and comments gratefully accepted.
Bella

Douglas

Free Member
Aug 22, 2008
South Wales,
Funster No
Exp
6 years + 5 years in boat before that
If you are a competent car driver you should be able to adjust to the extra size very quickly. The main difference is not so much the length but the swing of the back-end when turning, for example; if you are parked close to the curb, when you pull away there is a good chance that your back-end is going to cover the pavement so beware of items on the pavement.

You will find a reversing camera a big help but you will not the the pro. commercial drivers don't have them.

good luck. Doug...

Upvote 0

dazzer

Free Member
Jul 30, 2007
In my house
Funster No
MH
Virtual RV!!
Exp
10 Years
Have you thought about an RV??

They are not all huge 40 foot long 9 feet wide monsters you know. I love the B+ class of RV

Have a look at this

http://www.lazydays.com/rvs/Motorho...liday-Rambler-Augusta-Gas-Motorhomes-006.html