How long on battery? (1 Viewer)

Aug 25, 2020
Northamptonshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Chausson
Exp
Hello, I am new to this so bear with me. Bought a Chausson motorhome recently and had our first weekend away plugged into mains conextion, no problems. Last week were away for few days on grass pitch no mains. First night was cold so turned on heating. (Gas powered blown air system) after only about 90 minutes everything shut down and battery monitor said flat. My question is, how long would be normal for the battery to last in these circumstances? Do you think my battery has had it and needs replacing.
Also, is it poss to connect two batteries together easily to give me longer usage.
any advice would be gratefully received.

Sep 3, 2012
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
C Class Elddis 175
Exp
8+ years
Yes you can connect 2 batteries together in parallel quite easily, 2 x12 v ,.for your existing battery you really need to charge it up and then check it with a multimeter when it's been on for a short time..your existing battery doesn't sound too good if only run for 90 mins on a fan blower ,but depends what else you have on,lights,TV etc.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
90 minutes sounds like either the battery wasn't fully charged or its seen its best.
Connecting a pair of batteries is easy.
Keep them as close as possible and connect positive on one to positive on the other.... Same for negative.
Use a heavy cable to reduce volt drop and fit a fuse in the positive cable.
Don't connect a new battery to your old one as that will reduce the overall capacity and possibly damage the new one.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 26, 2012
Funster No
MH
coach
Exp
Motorhome since 2006 (caravanning 38yrs)
Need to ask lots of questions but I'll start with two.
What size battery do you have?
What did you have switched on?

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat