How long is a piece of string..... (1 Viewer)

DFMan

Free Member
Jun 26, 2018
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Toyota Dyna
Exp
Hi all,

I know this depends on use but I would very much like to know how long a full an 11kg and a 6kg would last on average. We will have five people travelling for 2 weeks. We will probably not cook but will have showers and a cuppa three times a day. Will the two bottles last?

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I seem to remember there was another thread on this and I think @Techno posted up some real life figures on it (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
I read today someone had done 5 weeks on 6kg (y)

A lot depends on when you are going as well

we have refillables, 2 x 11kg and have done three weeks regularly in Feb / March in France, changed bottles but not run out or refilled

that includes a lot of cooking and heating as France is pretty much closed in February

MattR

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2013
Beds
Funster No
MH
Panel van
Exp
Years
Hi all,

I know this depends on use but I would very much like to know how long a full an 11kg and a 6kg would last on average. We will have five people travelling for 2 weeks. We will probably not cook but will have showers and a cuppa three times a day. Will the two bottles last?

It depends on many factors including the time of year. During warm weather, you will probably prefer cold or cool water for showers so will use less gas. In the winter you'll want hot water.

You'll run out of water long before gas so if you stop at campsites to fill up, you'll save some gas if you use their showers rather that your own.

Flannel washes are one alternative to showers. We heat our water in a kettle for this as we only need to warm up a litre or two of water rather than the whole heating matrix of our water heater.