How long does 3 liter gas bottle last. (1 Viewer)

JimboT

Free Member
Nov 6, 2013
Welwyn Garden City
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
OK we bought two 3 liter bottles how long do these normally last ?
Have used the van of 4 days with hook up.
We can fit two 11 liter bottles or is this over kill?
We will also be using at a location without hook up so will be running gas and generator mainly.
I would say one bottle is full and not sure how much is in the other one.
Thanks
Jim

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
Hello Jim

I didn't know you could buy gas in such small bottles, I presume they are not Calor?

They are normally 6kg smallest

But in answer to your question, you will be told many times, it totally depends on your needs and usage, we have to cook (hob and oven) by gas, but when on hook up have electric heating and fridge. If you need to heat by gas, 3 litres / 3 kg would last us 2 nights max I reckon

David

Upvote 0

jb0371old

Free Member
Jul 8, 2011
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
1 year
if your using these as main system, it aint going to last long, best go for the 11kg, even maybe go for the gasit refillable system, loads of threads on here about it

gasit (red bottle) seem to be the cheapest but main make is called gaslow (yellow bottle and more expensive)

I never use hookup and we only have 1 11kg gasit bottle, works for us.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
i havent had a 3.9kg propane for years, they are really only useful for a portable barbeque or as a backup. plus you pay through the nose for a refill which costs nearly as much as a 6kg. mind you both are way more expensive than having refillable bottles you can top up at the garage