How do you travel with a dog? (1 Viewer)

Dave_E

Free Member
Sep 21, 2019
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
We travel with two dogs awesome and a lab.When travelling they wear a harness which we plug into the seat belts of the travel seats.

Dave_E

Free Member
Sep 21, 2019
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Not awesome a west Highland.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Caggsie1

Free Member
Sep 2, 2013
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2008
Like a lot of people on here, the Mh was bought so that we can take the dogs with us. We even take the cat. Ours are safe to be left without risk of the Mh being chewed and they’re not tappers. I certainly wouldn’t leave a pup on its own for any length of time. We’re looking after my adult kids dogs at the mo, two pups at same time. We can’t even go the loo! My experience with dogs and kids is they mix very well. Enjoy.

138go

Free Member
Feb 26, 2016
Funster No
MH
Carthago 138
Exp
Since 2001
When our dog was a puppy, we had a boat. To make her feel safe, we used a canvas kennel for her. We used this in the car as well. She was crate trained at home. On the boat, she slept in the canvas kennel and if we left her to go shopping etc., we left her in there. When we were at sea she would sit in the cockpit with us but when she'd had enough, she would ask to go down below by standing and looking down there.

Gradually as she got older, she spent less time in the crate at home and less time in the canvas kennel on the boat. Once we were sure she was past the chewing stage, we stopped using both.

The first time we left her loose in the boat, she'd had a whale of a time chewing every bit of paper she could find, including the book I was reading. So back in the canvas kennel she went, just for a bit longer.

She loved the boat and was very settled, even at sea. I think if you introduce your dog to lots of new experiences, in a safe way, when they are puppies, they can get used to most things.