maz

Jan 26, 2011
Bizeljsko, Slovenia
Funster No
MH
N+B Arto
Exp
Since March 2011
Found this buried in a general article about latest Covid travel rules.

The cost of a quarantine hotel is rising substantially, in a move that will put off those allowed to still travel to the UK from red list countries from coming even more.
From 12 August, the cost for one adult will rise from £1,750 to £2,285, while the additional rate for further adults or children over the age of 11 in the same party will rise from £650 to £1,430. Kids over five will still pay the same rate of £325.

Full article here:
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/aug/05/what-are-englands-latest-covid-travel-rules

How on earth can they justify this? Ok, so it’s unlikely that motorhomers will end up having to go to quarantine hotels but who knows ……. :unsure:

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
On LBC yesterday, they had a 3* hotelier from Heathrow area, he applied to be on the list of hotels, and had to submit a bid, he bid £850 for 10 days, and was told he was too cheap!

Just obscene profiteering going on, a couple will now be paying over £4,500 for 10 days in a double room - £450 per night?

Appreciate there are some other costs like testing built in, but even so.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
£2k is cheap for two weeks in nice hotel, full board, dinner included.
If you can afford to risk going away with a chance of contracting Covid and returning spreading it around and possibly killing hundreds, you can afford quarantine.
Your dreaming. Most are worse than a travelodge with food you'd return at McDonalds. There is certainly nothing 'nice' about them most are shitholes.
Why are you anymore likely to contract covid abroad than in the UK?