Hole in the roof for my aerial. (1 Viewer)

Rincewind

Free Member
Mar 26, 2018
Funster No
Hiya,
I'm new to this, but I needed to buy a motorhome at short notice, so I could start a new job upcountry.

So, I now own an old (1994) VW T4 'Swift Royale'.

I'm pleased with it so far.

One of the things I did to improve things, was to buy a telly.

To get a signal, I bought off ebay a secondhand 'model number 6701' which is a directional antenna, with a separate amplifier.

I'm pleased to say this works well.

The thing is, at present I am parking at night and travelling to work the following morning. As it stands, that means fastening/unfastening the aerial every day, as I route the coax on the outside of the van, which is a bit of a chore.

What I intend doing, is drilling a hole in the roof of my moho, to put the pole through, then affixing a bracket to the inside of my wardrobe.

Easy enough so far.

As the antenna is directional, I want to be able to rotate the pole from inside the van, to align the antenna on the outside, to suit my new parking position each evening.

Again, not much of a problem.

The problem: How do I make it weatherproof, but still able to rotate?

(I'm thinking of some kind of silicon grease filled thingummy?)

Any Ideas would be much appreciated (I'm on a bit of a tight budget).

Thanks.

Sep 10, 2013
Chelmsford Essex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Getting better
HI and welcome

You need an Ariel designed for motor home use. There are loads on the internet each with there own story, we use a Status one which came complete with mast support bracket and roof seal sleeve and gasket.
Call Johns Cross and talk about your issues..that's what I did and it's all worked well ever since

Ps join MH Fun and he'll give you a discount,,,!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Rincewind

Rincewind

Free Member
Mar 26, 2018
Funster No
Thanks for the replies,

It's good to know that this is a forum which responds.