Aug 7, 2011
Matlock
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, I'm new here - been browsing as a guest for a while though ::bigsmile:

I'm going to ask that question that you all probably roll your eyes and take a big sigh at about motor home hire. I've read most of the threads on here and another site on the topic and it seems to be a resounding "don't bother". However, I don't give up that easily and would love to hear from anybody who is having a good experience of renting out their motorhome and or making money from it.

I understand that I would not get rich and be able to give up the day job on just one or two vans, but the aim of this would not be to earn a living - more to enable me to comfortably afford a decent motor home and maybe make a couple of pounds from it.

The main questions I have are:

Is the insurance prohibitively expensive, What happens if it breaks down while on hire? If you sign up to an agency, how often do they get you hires? And is the demand as high as a certain company who wants to make me a billionaire would have me believe (first one to guess who wins a prize).

Obviously I've missed the boat this year, but this is something that I would really like to try, even if it doesn't earn me a living, it could be good fun - I've little money, but loads of time!

Thanks for reading,

Richard

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Lets put it this way, I have six very late models which we hire out. I buy at trade prices, you cannot, vans are cleaned and maintained by my staff, you can't, insurance is on our trade policy which is not easily obtained.

Do I make a fortune out of it................. NO

Why do I do it, it's part of a motorhome dealership and we can offer potential purchasers the opportunity of hiring before buying.