Hi Im new to this please help šŸ˜šŸ™ˆ (1 Viewer)

Kentomo

Free Member
Sep 27, 2021
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Hi everyone im thinking of buying a motorhome with my boyfriend. We'd like to live in it and travel Europe. Can anyone advise on the better ones to go for and important questions to ask when buying? Any advice would be really appreciated, thankyou šŸ˜Š

May 31, 2015
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Ducato PVC
Exp
Getting Better
Welcomeā€¦. Thatā€™s a good budget and you should get something decentā€¦.
YouTube ā€œvanlifeā€ and that will give you a good idea what itā€™s like to full time around Europe, but please be aware that you can only stay in Europe for 90days max at a time now unles you have euro passports..

OP
OP
K

Kentomo

Free Member
Sep 27, 2021
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Welcomeā€¦. Thatā€™s a good budget and you should get something decentā€¦.
YouTube ā€œvanlifeā€ and that will give you a good idea what itā€™s like to full time around Europe, but please be aware that you can only stay in Europe for 90days max at a time now unles you have euro passports..
Thanks loads i'll have a look now. Yeah we know all about the schengen thing šŸ˜Ÿ my boyfriend lives in Fuerteventura it's a pain, im still in the UK at the mo. Is there a make of motorhome you'd recommend? My boyfriend likes the older style hymers

Feb 18, 2017
Greenwich, London, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer MLT 570
Exp
We were looking to spend about Ā£25,000-Ā£30,000
OK, that is a realistic budget, you are looking for an older model circa 2003-2007.
Personally I'd start by looking at older Hymers built on a Mercedes base.
Good solid vehicles, built to last.

Find the best one for you within your budget, then use that as the 'benchmark' vehicle and see if you can find better for less money elsewhere.

British built vans are cheaper than German built ones, you pay for quality.

Rust and damp are the killers of older motorhomes.