Hi! Another newbie looking for first trip advice (1 Viewer)

Sam Harris

Free Member
Sep 30, 2017
folkestone
Funster No
MH
Ducato Benimar
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi guys and girls

We brought our motorhome (2004 benimar) nearly 4 weeks ago where it has so far just sat on the drive with big plans for europe next year, so to get the ball rolling we are planning a short 3 night break next weekend to start getting the hang of it and working out what we need and to survive and for how long without water/waste etc but i don't know where to start

We (myself, the wife, our 3year old daughter and the dog) live near folkestone and want to travel no more than 2-3hours drive to somewhere that we can test the motorhome facilities without just staying at a campsite

any advice?

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
Hi Sam and welcome to the Fun :hiya:

Wow - exciting times!
I agree with Smith & Sharp about a night on the drive being a good start, then maybe your first weekend could be on a campsite - use all your own facilities but there'll be somebody around to help if things go wrong or you can't work out how to do something. This will make sure you can have a great time on your first getaway :)
Or just 'go for it' and have a good laugh when you remember you needed to switch on the electricity to be able to switch on the gas hob, or to flush the loo..... :blush:
Sorry I can't suggest locations, I don't know Kent.

Whatever you do, have an adventure next weekend and many more after that (y)

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010