help.....what is the best way to receive live TV on my tablet or phone

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by buttons, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16,134
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +16,929
    I think it was time for a technology leap. What is the best way to stream live TV on my tablet or android phone. Using wifi either on my home network or my phone network.
    Thanks
     
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,412
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +15,249
    Kodi
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  3. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +13,838
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. rb62

    rb62 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +13,396
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,412
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +15,249
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +13,838
    Funny just got back from trip Spain/France no problems getting free UK TV from filmon ,must have been lucky I guess :)

    Must say though that was on laptop using fon WiFi
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,412
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +15,249
    Have you got one of them vpn? Thingys
     
  8. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +13,838
    No just a bit of chinky tech and antenna :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. rb62

    rb62 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +13,396
    I think it depends which version/app you use,we used it round France and Germany no problem,our version comes from,

    http://eu.api.filmon.com/
     
  10. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +13,838

    That's familiar and just choose the live UK TV tab
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    7,347
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Ratings:
    +19,829
    On the od occasion I watch tv filmon works on my laptop here.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16,134
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +16,929
    Have just been chatting to my daughter, she says that Virgin anywhere can be used on mobile appliances. I'm with Virgin with unlimited everything so I think I will make this my first choice. Having said that I have just downloaded filmon and it looks very good to me thanks....(y)
     
  13. busby

    busby Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4,543
    Location:
    derbys
    Ratings:
    +5,157
    I used it in France,Spain and Portugal this year...BUSBY.
     
  14. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,989
    I have just checked Film-on here in Spain works perfect and I have used it in France and Germany this year.
     
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9,412
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ratings:
    +15,249
    Yeah I was wrong, its working here in Portugal
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. LesleyC

    LesleyC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +161
    Check it works with your mobile devices. Its very fussy about what it will and won't work with. Sadly between 2 mobiiles and 1 tablet, none of them are acceptable to Virgin Anywhere :( There is a list somewhere on their website.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16,134
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +16,929
    Hi Lesley, I have it working but with some restrictions on what programs are available. I get a massage requesting my serial number before making more stations available. Not got around to doing this yet but have now left myself a note to do it today.(y) Do you have a virgin TIVO box as it is only the tivo that works with the virgin anywhere app.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
  18. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,714
    We have had it on English in Spain. allways use filmon. Pete
     
  19. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,226
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +14,839
    I use iPlayer or the ITV app both work fine anywhere in the world if you connect via a proxy server.
     
  20. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,945
    Filmon for us even on poor site wifi if you are prepared to wait, it is possible to record an hour for free on to their server and download to a pc or other device later, can sometimes take a long time to download.
    For €5 a month this allowance is increased to 4 hours which resets when downloaded and is plenty for us.
    As well as UK TV there is all sorts of other dross on there that I have never bothered to investigate, would this be the fate of UK TV if the licence fee was abolished.......or is it already there.....SKY.....VIRGIN??
     
Loading...

Share This Page