Help!! Status 315.......

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Tavsday, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. Tavsday

    Tavsday Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Just upgraded from a traditional vw camper to a motorhome to make things easier with our 3 year old!

    We just went away on our first weekend with the idea of cbeebies being on tap, however our status 315 doesn't really seem to be cutting the mustard. Will a booster do us any good (if so what do you recommend?) or do we need to completely change the arial? We don't really want to fiddle with the roof if poss as we don't want any leaks?!?

    Any help would be much appreciated

    Many thanks ::bigsmile:
     
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,057
    There should be a booster amplifier already fitted, have you switched it on?

    Peter
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,567
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,094
    There is a digital amplifier available from status that apparently works well
     
  4. bigfoot

    bigfoot Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4,025
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +7,108
    Have you got the right polarity? Vertical or horizontal. Horizontal,ie the plane of the aerial is flat and usually for main transmitters, Vertical,plane is up and down,is for repeater masts generally the ones we find on sites. Digital was originally fed through repeaters. If you can look around at any buildings and see where they are pointing. Or copy a fellow camper.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,142
    the omni directional 315 will never be any good unless you are close to a transmitter.

    cut your losses and bin it for a decent directional one through the roof.

    fitted properly they do not leak.

    i have, in the past, used an normal house aerial on a pole attached to the rear ladder...never failed to give good results.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,142
    Yeah right :roflmto:

    I've seen aerials pointing in every possible direction on campsites and show grounds. :Doh:

    i suppose one or two must have it right but its far better to note local house aerial direction as you approach the campsite etc.
     
  7. aba

    aba Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    i too have used a household aerial on a pole fixed to my rear ladder it may not look as nice but it works and costs about a 10th of the price.

    like now i have a sky mesh mini dish clamped on a pole on the ladder total cost was around £10 for the cable the dish was a scrap one off an installer.
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,557
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,918
    >> Help!! Status 315.......

    You need to use the MotorhoneFUN technique to improve your 315.

    First remove from roof.

    Place on flat smooth soft grass.

    With the aid of an assistant drive over it with the motorhome.

    Repeat until you can no longer see the 315.

    Go buy a Status 550.
     
    • Like it Like it x 7
  9. aba

    aba Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    most of them just use their satellite systems so never bother with the normal aerial.
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,142
    maybe so but they still stick 'em up and point 'em in a direction....any direction. :roflmto:
     
  11. Tavsday

    Tavsday Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks all!!

    Thanks everyone for the sound advice! Think it's time to get the big mallet out!!

    :thumb:
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,142
    Incidently....if you do decide to change the 315 you dont have to remove the base plate.
    you can buy a blanking plug which fits in/on the base plate after removing the 'saucer' part and the coax cable.


    Blanking cap
     
  13. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,557
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,918
    I wonder if you'll be luckier than I was. The directional aerial had to be in a slightly different place due to the pole hanging inside. Very nerve-racking to stick one big hole-saw through the roof.
     
  14. Tavsday

    Tavsday Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    315

    Yeah same as us that is why we're a bit reluctant to change it, I see most people have them fitted in their wardrobe but we're the other side, with just a small cupboard underneath....
     
  15. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,965
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +9,891
    They do make a short cupboard version of the 530
    The 530/5 with a 365mm mast (Top Cupboard Fitting)
    The 530/10 with a 920mm mast (Wardrobe Fitting)
    Dont throw throw the old unit away they make great frisbies:thumb:
     
  16. Fosdike

    Fosdike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    ripon
    Ratings:
    +1
    Absolute rubbish, I have used a Status 315 for years and there have been to very few places that I have had to resort to getting out the satellite dish because i cannot get a terrestrial signal. Now that the majority of Freeview transmitters have significantly upped their power output I think us flying saucer owners are going to have the last laugh as we watch you lot fiddling around trying to locate a good signal when all we have to do is plug in and switch on. Regarding one of the previous posts, It is not unusual to find people who didn't realise it had to be switched on.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,245
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +25,981
    Last year I pulled up at Durdle Door campsite. I managed to get a fairly poor picture on my Staus 315 on a day when many wanted to watch the Grand Prix. Their super duper wind up dish's got nothing and they crowded into mine to watch the GP.

    Picture improved no end when I remembered to switch on the Booster.........:ROFLMAO:
     
  18. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,369
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,776
Loading...

Share This Page