Help sat receiver

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Hayleylulu, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. Hayleylulu

    Hayleylulu Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    3,882
    Location:
    Full timing in the van
    we need a 12 volt sat receiver with free sat any one using one and wheres the best place to get a bargain from and are they any good
     
  2. madbluemad

    madbluemad Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    I use a black box, bought from Road Pro. Its excellent but wont take a SKY Card.

    Jim
    :Smile:
    Edit: Sorry it brings in Freeview, Astra 1,2 and all the usual suspects but I dont know about Free Sat.
     
  3. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    417
    Location:
    Rochester
    Got mine from Maplin 12v and small, does what it says on the tin, can't remember model will have a look next time I am in the van.
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,046
    Likes Received:
    27,171
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    ebay probably.

    You have 2 choices, a Freesat box that will give you on screen freesat guide or much cheaper the little receivers that come with the suitcase sat systems that will get the channels but not the guide.

    Your talking £100 or £25 at a guess.

    But wait a minute, a 12V Freesat box, that might be hard to find and pricey.
     
  5. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
  6. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,920
    Likes Received:
    6,188
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Sorry to pinch your thread
    Brian
    Not free SAT but free to air in my case would that explain why I get a guide on my RV free to air box but not on my home TV:Doh:
    is it the boxs that generate the EPG???
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,504
    Likes Received:
    18,191
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it is that Geo...

    my Zhenda has a reasonably good guide whereas my old porty is crap !!!!

    some are more interactive than others.:thumb:
     
  8. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,920
    Likes Received:
    6,188
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Cheers John
    At the new year meet my dish got bashed with my awning and would not lock on
    so out come a free to view box plugged in the arial and Hey!!!!!!!!!!!! full EPG
    so I gets home and spend the next three weeks re bootin the TV to find it:RollEyes::Doh:
    So that explains why I aint got any EPG on the TV, But why not:cry:
    Geo
     
  9. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,046
    Likes Received:
    27,171
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Don't know, but John does.

    I could have answered freesat - it grabs a program guide off a different satellite - that's why the general purpose receivers don't get it.

    We were setup again with digital TV. They produced thousands of set top boxes then the transmission authority changed the spec, adding more channels which a load of earlier boxes could not decode.
     
Loading...

Share This Page