Help...Please.

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Sweeney-todds, May 28, 2009.

  1. Sweeney-todds

    Sweeney-todds Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys.

    Lorraine and I bought a telly for the Rienza.

    First thing we had to do was change the existing 12v socket, for a cigarette lighter type....all done and working fine.

    Ariel lead is all good, but cant tune the Tele in, had on digital tuning to.

    Do you think the existing ariel on the van should pick up digital?
    Or do we need a new ariel ??:Doh:

    Bill and Lorraine:Smile:
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,597
    Try tuning into a normal analogue signal first.

    if its a flying saucer then it may not work on digital.

    try turning off the the signal booster box....a recent post suggested it can interfere with digi signals
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,640
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,261
    Ours is fine.
     
  4. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,399
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,881
    Depends on your ariel type. If it looks like a flying saucer it is probably the reason you are having trouble.

    Ours is a directional one (Status type, not round) & we get DTV unless we are in a dodgy area with a poor signal.

    Keith
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,597
    hi brian.....some seem to work ok, others dont.
    ours did as we are only 1/2 mile from the transmitter but once away from home it was useless.
     
  6. Ralph-Dot

    Ralph-Dot Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    Billingham
    Ratings:
    +79
    It also depends where you are, some places still have very weak digital signal

    Ralph
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,597
    which wont be helped by the omni aerial.....if it is, in fact, omnidirectional?
     
  8. Sweeney-todds

    Sweeney-todds Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All....

    Thank you for your replies and suggestions.:thumb:

    It is a Flying Saucer::bigsmile:type thingy majig:Doh:
    I will try all you have suggested.

    If I get no joy......what are the options open to us?


    Bill & Lorraine:Smile:
     
  9. Ralph-Dot

    Ralph-Dot Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    Billingham
    Ratings:
    +79
    Nearly every caravan I have ever seen has one and also an aerial on a pole so I would never trust one to work.

    Ralph
     
  10. SIFTA SAM

    SIFTA SAM Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    Leyland Lancs
    Ratings:
    +664
    Are all digital tv transmissions using the same polarization?
    Analogue tv transmissions use both horizontal and vertical polarization depending wether the transmssions are from a main transmitter or a relay transmitter. The aerial needs to be correctly aligned.
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,597
    not sure but i reckon the very narrow bandwidth used for digi channels would allow a single polarization for all channels.
    i think we have so few analogue channels 'cos they are quite bandwidth hungry and there isnt room on the wavelength for many more.

    could be talking out my a**e but thats how i see it.
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,597
    a standard house type aerial on a pole is the cheapest but inconvenient.

    a made for motorhomes/caravans directional aerial is the most convenient but quite expensive......status 530-5 or 530-10.


    beat option, but most expensive unless its a suitcase type, is a satellite dish, either roof or tripod mounted.
    no tuning when you move from place to place, just re-align the dish.
    no problem getting a uk TV signal anywhere in northern/central europe providing theres nothing in the way ie: tall buildings, trees etc of the line of sight to the satellite.
     
  13. SIFTA SAM

    SIFTA SAM Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    Leyland Lancs
    Ratings:
    +664
    No pappajohn, the polarization has nothing to do with bandwidth or channels, it's the make-up of the electric and magnetic fields that form the emf wave that we receive at our TV aerial. In Horizontal and Vertical Polarization, the emf wave is rotated 90 degrees difference to each other, and means the receiving aerial must be rotated to the same angle for reception to take place (as well as pointing in the right direction).
    You could be in a strong reception area, but still not get a picture because your aerial
    may need to be rotated 90 degrees.
    I do not know if H and V polarization is being used for digital TV.

    Hope you're still awake pappajohn?


    :ROFLMAO:
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,597
    yes but you only have vert or horiz in any one area...we are vertical i think without going out and looking at the aerial.
    i always thought the bandwidth could only carry a certain number of frequencies hence very few analogue channels......or is it the BBC pulling rank.:RollEyes:
     
  15. derekfaeberwick

    derekfaeberwick

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +9
    Non directional, dysfunctional, unfathomable, disreputable,untunable,unsellable? :ROFLMAO:.I'd not give mine away, it's like a kind of sentimental folly, a reminder of the past glorious days of B.B.C. dominance and dodgy black and white pictures that wobbled 6 times a day when the old B.E.A. Dakotas flew over our house when I was a bairn in Aberdeen. :RollEyes:
     
  16. bazfergy

    bazfergy

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    dumfries scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    no signal

    hi bill and lorraine i had the same problem now i just use an old sattelite system perfect picture i paid £40 for dish, remote,reciever,coax cable and patio bracket just point the dish south east and pick up a great signal every time:thumb:
     
  17. madbluemad

    madbluemad Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    spain
    Ratings:
    +244
    Hi
    Fit a satellite dish. I have a camos flat sat plus wind up. Its spot on.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
Loading...

Share This Page