Help please with satellite

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by jackierals, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. jackierals

    jackierals

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +63
    We are in the forest & our not so super duper oyster vision cant lock on to any satellites. What can we do??????
     
  2. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,307
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Ratings:
    +3,289
    Read a book:ROFLMAO:

    If oyster cant lock on nothing can



    Mel
     
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,207
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,442
    You either have trees in the way, so move...

    Or there is a problem with your system.. :Doh:

    Try option 1 in a nice clear space... If its an older system there has been some software updates so you may need to check with your dealer / installer.
     
  4. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +991
    I found this the other week so rather than looking like a chump and keep moving the van i just used my digital arial:ROFLMAO:
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,600
    look slightly left of due south and just above horizontal.

    can you see the horizon or tree's ?

    tree's....forget satellite as it aint going to work
     
  6. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,307
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Ratings:
    +3,289
    When did you last use it?
    Have you tried another sat i.e. astra 1 or hotbird just to test the system.

    Or like tonka says trees.


    If you cant sort it ring Oysters help line, its a uk number they are realy helpfull.

    Dont know if they work weekends.
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,600
    an afterthought....

    theres a new astra satellite up there to replace the previous one so your Oyster box may need updating....unless you have already used it since the new sat started transmitting
     
  8. jackierals

    jackierals

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +63
    Thanks all, its a new system (tail end of 2012) so shld be working & updated. Dont have a digital aerial but no doubt that'll be on the list now. Thank god for dvds
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,258
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,600
    may be a new system but could be old stock.

    need to try again at a different location to confirm.
     
  10. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Ratings:
    +213
    If you have a smart phone download the free sat finder app, even with an auto system worth having as it shows where the chosen satellite is and identifies any obstructions:thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. callumwa

    callumwa

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Ratings:
    +4,520
    Trees, trees, beware the trees...................:Eeek:
     
  12. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,207
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,442
    Sounds very much like you have some trees blocking the signal..

    A lesson you will learn today is to look at the trees and the direction of the satellite signal before you park up... :thumb:

    Also, spending £1,000's on a flash sat dish does not guarantee you a picture, someone with a £50 system could place theirs 10 foot away on the ground away from the van and get a picture through a tree gap.. :ROFLMAO:

    Seriously.. After you move on, find a nice clear spot and try again just to ensure all is ok before the next time you pitch up.. :thumb:

    Enjoy your DVD's...
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. MrMotorhome

    MrMotorhome Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    640
    Ratings:
    +1,129
    Sat dish not locking on

    If your sat dish has stopped 'locking on' and you find it's not the trees......

    We eventually had to have the box software updated as the transponders have been changed apparently late last year and our 'menu' did not allow us to alter them. Newer software allows you to change the transponder numbers yourself.

    The 'box' upgrade is fairly straight forward to do by someone who as the correct laptop / software. It took about 30 mins in total and we were charged £25. All working perfectly again now. :thumb:
     
  14. Philiphall

    Philiphall Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Department 87, Haute Vienne, France
    Ratings:
    +200
    I had this last week on a site that was completely surrounded by trees, gave up and read a book and got drunk down the local pub had a great couple of nights. I moved to lay-by a couple of days later and all worked fine - no trees.
     
  15. Ralph-n-Bev

    Ralph-n-Bev Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6,482
    Location:
    Wrenthorpe, Wakefield.
    Ratings:
    +12,923
    I know what we do :Blush:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  16. mick noe

    mick noe Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    near Boston Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +603
    chainsaw?:thumb:
     
  17. toolbox

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi jackierals

    got a chainsaw you can borrow :ROFLMAO:
     
  18. jackierals

    jackierals

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +63
    We are home now, didnt get the TV working whilst on site but it does now so it was obviously the trees. We are still complete and utter idiot newbies but at least we learn something with every trip away. We had 2 days of hellish rain and this morning woke at 7.45 to heavy snow (Postern Hill, Wiltshire) so packed up and was off site before the gate was even open, which has resulted in us now realising that we need an awning of sorts to attach to the motorhome (wet dog & even wetter clothes not good in confined spaces) Does anyone know of a good generic one?:rain:
     
  19. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,307
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Ratings:
    +3,289
    Dont agree that you are idiots

    The idiot is the one that cant ask for help.

    We all make mistakes and all learn every day.

    Mel
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  20. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Stamford
    Ratings:
    +1,179
    As a newbie it's best not to jump to any conclusions - awnings are great if you're staying for 5 days or more. Anything less than this and you won't have got over the stress of putting it up and tying it down! Awnings are no fun and will result in one or more of your party getting a strop-on. Getting a pop-up tent may be a quick and easy solution - getting any motohome awning in place and wind proof is hard work.

    A crate is a good thing for wet dogs. Fabric types are available that fold flat when not used and don't scratch the furniture. Roll up the carpets and leave them at home. Buy a flat floor mop and a squeeze and mop floor cleaner.

    Assume you may not get a TV signal that way when you get 403 Sky channels its a bonus. Downloading programmes to your iPad or laptop via the BBC iPlayer and you have something to watch.

    You'll be a practised and hardened motorhome fun steer by next season.
     
Loading...

Share This Page