Help! New bike and Fiamma rack

Discussion in 'Bikes and eBikes' started by DM23, Apr 9, 2018.

  1. DM23

    DM23 Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +306
    Less than 6 weeks till our next trip and we decided to try the new bikes on the bike rack....they don't fit! :eek:

    Hubby's bike is fine - if we put his on the outside rail we can use the existing bent arm block to attach it, but my step-through bike is more problematic. Without a crossbar obviously I need to either clamp to the seat tube or get a frame adapter to make a crossbar (I'd prefer using the seat tube). Seems there are load of different Fiamma arms/blocks - which one do I need? It'll be going on the inside rail (the one nearest the van).

    Anyone have any experience of putting a step through bike on a Fiamma rack?
     
  2. TeeMyob

    TeeMyob Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    Javea, Spain/Manchester UK
    Ratings:
    +2,444
    Usually quite simple?

    Do you have a photo?.

    Put many a step through bike on, no problems.
     
  3. Popeye

    Popeye Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,674
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +31,218
    I have a clip on adjustable crossbar for my wife's step through.
    I have this one.........


    Strong, quick to clip on, attatch the 'Fiamma' arm straight to it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3,075
    The Fiamma racks are very adjustable, we need a pic to help.
     
  5. Howard H

    Howard H Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    North Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    We had th same problem the company called Thule make an adjustable removable cross bar . You may find you have to turn the handle bars on the bike nearest to the van as well on my bike the handle bars where to close the rear of my motorhome for my liking .
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Euphony

    Euphony Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Perthshire
    Ratings:
    +4,221
    Just back from a break with the bikes and my wife has a step-through,
    Hers goes on first, the short arm lowers and the head rotates to lock on to the top diagonal step through bar. Mine goes outside with the long arm holding the crossbar. Our is a Fiamma too.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. DM23

    DM23 Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +306
    Yeah that's what thought....until we tried it LOL

    I thought about one of those, I'd prefer not to use one if we can get away with it though because due to the shape of the bike frame it'd have to attach to the seat post rather than the seat tube.

    Yes we had that problem with the old bikes too. The inner rail on the bike rack is just a tad too close to the body.

    That was kind of our plan....except I was aiming for the seat tube rather than the down tube (coz the downtube is very fat). But then we found the short arm won't rotate - didn't want to force it in case it wasn't meant to. Maybe its just stuck and we need to have another go at it.

    Here's a pic:
    [​IMG]

    Having spent a while looking through the Fiamma catalogue, I think the Bike Block Pro D1 might be what I need.
     
  8. Trixie

    Trixie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    Ratings:
    +601
    6F6FD805-BE50-4FE3-A819-DB2D9108451C.jpeg 6559157A-4C50-496F-BA48-47AF37F12821.jpeg 6559157A-4C50-496F-BA48-47AF37F12821.jpeg Mine is also a step through but attaches by the bar at the bottom. It’s a fiamma bike rack.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Trixie

    Trixie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    Ratings:
    +601
    You could attach it with a ratchet strap or 2.
     
  10. dalspa

    dalspa Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Spalding, Lincs.
    Ratings:
    +117
    The head of the clamp should rotate. Squirt some silicone spray into it and then try it again. The head on the short clamp looks smaller than the one on the longer clamp, so I would look to put it onto the seat post/tube. You may find that you will need to slide the track (into which the wheels go) along to allow the bike to move over for the clamp to align with the seat tube. Slacken the two bolts on the track and move it to fit. Doesn’t matter if the tracks don’t all align together. I have moved mine so that I can fit two bikes without the handle bars clashing. I also re drilled the holes so that the bike nearest the back of a the van better fitted the short clamp, and this allows me to also put some pipe lagging onto the rack frame to put a strap around the bike also. Belt and braces.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. DM23

    DM23 Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +306
    The clamps are actually the same size - its just the perspective on the photo that makes them look different, though the downtube is definitely too big for the clamp anyway. Will have a go at the shorter clamp to see if we can get it loosened up.
    We need to replace the rails anyway with the longer e-bike ones so its no problem to offset them if needed to line up the seat tube with the clamp (y)
     
  12. Trixie

    Trixie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    Ratings:
    +601
    My fiamma clamps don’t rotate but I think the modern ones do
     
  13. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16,063
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +28,703
    You could move the short arm to the side of the upper bar rather than having it on the top of it, it should then line up with the seat post.
     
  14. DM23

    DM23 Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +306
    Thanks for all the suggestions (y)
    We've managed to get the smaller clamp to rotate - its still really stiff, but knowing that it should move means we're willing to force it.
    Will see about exactly where to position the bike when the new rails arrive....if we can use the existing short clamp then great, but I've ordered one of the Pro D1 arms just in case (can always return it if not needed).
     
  15. Ridgeway

    Ridgeway Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    Lausanne
    Ratings:
    +979
    Even with the wheel straps and the clamps on I always add 2 ratchet straps, to be sure to be sure.
     
  16. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    Ratings:
    +2,676
    BE295743-26F0-4DDE-8EAE-9BA613894FC2.jpeg The bike rack for a panel van is normally only held in position by the tension on the side fixings so being a belt and braces person I bolted mine on straight through the van door. In doing so I fixed in a cargo holder plate that I took out of the back of the van when I converted it. This means that I can put a ratchet strap through the top and bottom ones to make sure that the bikes don’t move. I suppose the door could fall off though.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice