HELP! Dometic Fridge Problem

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by OldWomble, May 29, 2016.

  1. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hi all
    we are just about to go away for a few weeks and the fridge won't turn on - has anyone else had this problem? or any ideas what we can do? Due at the tunnel tomorrow pm but can't go 5 weeks without a fridge!!!
     
  2. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,686
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Ratings:
    +5,957
    Not had this problem before. Just make sure you are hooked up, lecce is on hold the on switch in for a while!
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +15,159
    have you got a 12v supply to the fridge? nothing else works if 12v is off. check by seeing if the lamp lights when opening the fridge door
     
  4. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +36
    No lamp on but there is a supply (12v) to the back of the fridge. The fuse is ok so any other ideas? Cant get hold of a Dometic engineer until after we are due to leave
     
  5. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +751
    Might help if you gave more detail. What fridge? Will it just not go at all? Have you tried it on mains, gas, and 12v?
     
  6. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    Ratings:
    +4,090
    Is this a newish fridge?
    Our almost new fridge/freezer packed up on the hottest day of one trip last year and in the most remote aire we stayed at.
    It was a ribbon cable (like a computer cable) that runs down the back and hadn't been firmly pushed into the socket at the bottom to lock it into place, presumably in manufacture. It had wriggled free as we travelled.
    It seemed to control everything as everything refused to work until it was pushed back into the socket, with huge difficulty due to the poor access.

    Hope you get it sorted.

    Richard.
     
  7. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +190
    Are you level? Ours won't work on our drive! Took me ages to work out why!
     
  8. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +15,159
    can @Johns_Cross_Motorhomes not get you in quicker?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,477
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,148
    Unfortunately the workshop is closed on Monday as its a Bank Holiday otherwise I am sure Glenn would olblige

    Peter
     
  10. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +751
    Just a bit of reassurance. They do have good engineers across the water and whilst it is not ideal you could go and get it fixed in France.
     
  11. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +36
    Just had a Dometic engineer ring me back and taken some details. Hopefully he will have a new PCB in stock.
    S & G Caravan Services from Worthing area. Lets hope he's got the bits - brilliant service if he has!!!
     
  12. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4,263
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    Ratings:
    +35,501
    With ours, it was the motherboard behind the top front panel.
    We were away when it stopped working, had lots of ideas from Funsters & tried 'em all; in the end Him Indoors got frustrated & tried to lever the strip off and - hey presto! - it started up again (phew!) Must have pressed something significant back into place.
    Got it properly fixed after we got home though.
     
  13. OldWomble

    OldWomble Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hi CWH

    Yup just found the same thing. Had all the panels and covers off and found we had power to the top panel but would not switch on. Had a good wriggle of all the connections and then shorted across the switch and, hey presto, on it came. So off we go and we will get it fixed as soon as we get back by S & G who has been fantastic!

    Thanks all for all your responses and ideas.
     
    • Like it Like it x 6
  14. Rob Turner

    Rob Turner Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Wem Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +412
    Don't you just love the forum!
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
Loading...

Share This Page