Help/Advise required from household electrical whizzes. (1 Viewer)

Oct 8, 2014
Todmorden
Funster No
MH
Compactline 143
Exp
I'm a newbie and always will be. You never know it all.
Ok, not quite Web connections but in this day and age it seems to me that the two are becoming more and more dependent on one another to deliver Smart technology.

I'll start with the background to why I am asking for advice in the first place. I have an old 1940s prefabricated bungalow which I recently purchased from a local housing association under the Right To Buy scheme.

The bungalow is in a very poor state of repair one of the problems being rotten facia boards, asbestos soffits and partial gable end cladding as I'm not getting any younger now (knocking on the door of 70) and we are not awash with resource I decided to tackle this job first, well that's a lie really, in reality I had no choice, No tradesmen wanted the job at at price within my budget and to be honest I don't think they wanted that type of work anyway.

So after advice from a local asbestos removal expert I have removed everything from the back of the property and put new facia boards up ready to clad with UPVC. My thoughts then turned to lighting and security, I have simple access to the loft and soffit area and it would seem stupid not to hide all wiring in the soffit void whilst completing this task.

I am no tradesman (my trade was the long since dead and buried worsted spinning trade) I am however a reasonable DIYer,