Hello, moving my motorhome to Spain (1 Viewer)

Oct 10, 2021
Bácor-Olivar, Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer swing 494
Exp
Dry van forever Moho new
Hello, just joined the forum, hoping for some help and understanding!

I'm in deep stress and depression. I'm a Spanish resident but I'm in UK a lot, I've always owned a caravan or converted van but never a motorhome. I divide my time between the 2 countries quite evenly, working in UK in the summer and Spain in winter. This summer I bought a little. LHD Hymer Swing 494 motor home, 1996 to enable me to nip back and forth to jobs and be able to eventually matriculate it in Spain. What an absolute shambles I stumbled into!

My gestor (legal guy for bureaucracy, everybody has one) assured me that it would be ok,go ahead, just buy a LHD, all will be well.

He obviously hadn't read that Brexit puts UK citizens on the same footing as people from everywhere else in the world outside EU, and makes importing a vehicle much harder.

So he threw his hands up when I began the process and said it's impossible, and when pressed said, I can't be bothered to do it. It's too hard.

I live in a pretty unpopulated area and do not have access to whizz kid gestores, they are all in the big cities. The ones willing to work in my area don't want difficult problems, hard work or English people at all to be honest!

At the moment I have drawn an absolute blank. I know it will attract tax and duty, and am willing to see what that would be, but no one has got past the point of "does it have a Certificate of Conformity", no... "Oh well it's impossible"! I have contacted Fiat (the cab) and Hymer (the ramshackle body of which they should be ashamed) and both have been supremely unhelpful. Fiat saying that their CoC would be superceded by Hymer's, and actually in 1996 there was no CoC issued and so it goes on.

Does anyone have POST BREXIT WITHDRAWAL AGREEMENT experience that can help me? Or know of a place that can?

OP
OP
clareking
Oct 10, 2021