Hello fellow motorhomers! (& LPG connection abroad) (1 Viewer)

Will Robertson

Free Member
May 12, 2017
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
1 month
Hi everyone!

My wife and I recently took the plunge and bought a Dethleffs Advantage...after about a year of wanderlust planning of life on the road! We're currently travelling around Europe for 4 months with our two children (in week 3 already!) and complete newbies so still getting to everything. All very exciting and seems everyday is a new adventure!

One thing, we haven't quite figured out though - and have done quite a bit of reading on it online, but still slightly baffled is switching our gas connectors so can use French propane bottles. Sorry in advance, as I know this is a well discussed topic, but still can't seem to find the answer!

Right, so here goes, my understanding is this...When we bought our motorhome we were told we didn't need to but anything whilst in the UK and could but new hoses/connectors/gas bottles in each respective country..should we wish to. Sounded easy. As we're planning spending most of time in France, between places, we thought we'd take our one Calor uk bottle with us, and in France get parts/bottle so could get French gas whenever needed..

Well, we've been to lots of supermarkets and diy stores, even one motorhome place, and no one has been able to help us unfortunately. I have bought a French propane regulator (see image below) which connects to a French bottle, and removed the original pigtail (male/femail 6.3mm), hoping I could then find an adaptor that would connect to it with the new French regulator..but no joy!

I have also included a pic below of what the wall mounted end looks like, once I removed pipe - of course making sure all was gas turned off.

I've seen some threads mentioning adaptors or new pigtails, but can't see how would work with my setup, plus we're abroad now so can't order stuff from UK easily.