Have you seen the new Pilote Joa Camp models? Thought? (1 Viewer)

Aug 28, 2021
Oxford, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto-Sleeper Kingham
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all

I shall shortly be in the market for a new motorhome - and I do mean new. I've read a lot of advice on going for new/used vehicles and I've decided that for my plans, I want new.

The Pilote Joa Camp 70Q (no specific reason to link to this site - it's just one of the only sites with a decent spec and pics at the moment) is looking really attractive to me. There are a few extras that I'm going to need, chief amongst them an extra bed for occasional use. Fitted with all optional extras (including the bed and the usual gubbings) it comes in at just shy of £52k. It's coming out in January 2022 which is bang on the time I'm looking at.

I shall be travelling solo with the odd visit (hence the extra bed option) and everything about this seems perfect for me.

Interested to hear what seasoned MH experts think.

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Aug 09 to date 9,000 miles!
No pic of the bathroom. Nowhere to lounge full length. Very sparse cooking facilities. Not for me.

By 'payload' when we ask that, we mean how much can we carry, additional to the weight of the vehicle and what Pilote have already put in it - not what driving licence one needs to drive it on the road.

Oct 29, 2016
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp
Motor Homing 5 years, caravan previously
Payload at nearly 7Mts could be tight with full tanks, water & Fuel, plus 2 leisure batteries, solar panels maybe, large garage to keep bikes and other junk in is so tempting.
No mention of the MIRA weight that's the vans weight from the factory before any additions are added, deduct that figure when known, from the MTPLM (Maximum Technically Permissible Laden Mass) which is 3500KG's, and the difference is your usable payload.