Hard wiring reveresing camera

Discussion in 'Motorhome Accessories' started by Sorted, Dec 1, 2018.

  1. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,
    I would like wire up my twin lens reversing/rear view camera to use a permanent live from a piggy backed (add a fuse) in the dashboard fusebox, although a switched live would also be ok. I just need to power the monitor and was going to wire from the fuse to a twin cigarette lighter socket that will be behind the dash and then use that for the monitor and new Garmin Camper Satnav.
    I have a 2018 Benimar 286, that uses the Fiat Ducato 2.3 Multijet.
    Anyone recommend which fuse to piggy back onto please?
     
  2. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    I think a switched (ignition) live would be best, along as it has its own fuse.
    I would be proding about with a voltmeter as I have no idea which wires are switched.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,257
    Location:
    Calle San Rafael 2,, 03730 Xàbia, Alicante, Spain
    Ratings:
    +5,040
    Yes through the ignition, if it's permanent live you will have a flat battery. :mad: Bob.
     
  4. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,880
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    Ratings:
    +3,002
    I wired mine to the leisure battery with a switch reachable when driving, I can then put it on and off whenever I need it, usually when towing the car trailer.
     
  5. Landy Andy

    Landy Andy Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    Herts, Camb boarders
    Ratings:
    +235
    I just looked into fuse board and there were two empty slots where fuses where not used. They were both ignition live. I used the piggy back fuse connector but did not put the base fuse in, so it only provides a fused ignition live to my twin camera setup.

    Andy.
     
  6. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15,112
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +24,792
    I wired mine to the radio ACC connection which is an ignition switched live.
    No way would I use a twin cigarette lighter type socket behind the dash, plugs work loose in them then the connections arc and overheat.
    The cameras are 12v so can be wired straight in and the satnav probably needs a 5v USB socket just fit a USB power socket.
     
  7. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes I have those blanks too, so may use one of them or the Radio fuse and 'add a fuse' Thanks :)
     
  8. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Lenny but I always secure the plug into the socket and then use a strong gaffer tape around the assembly. So will probably stay with that for the Garmin Satnav (single socket) and hard wire the camera Monitor. :)
     
  9. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Do you need 2 x cables from the Monitor to the twin camera or is it all done via one?
     
  10. Landy Andy

    Landy Andy Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    Herts, Camb boarders
    Ratings:
    +235
    I used one power supply and shared it to supply monitor and the SINGLE power supply for both cameras.
     
  11. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I only need to power the monitor as that supplies the power to the camera in its cable but not sure if there needs to be 2 x cables between the monitor/camera (1 for each camera). Will check with the supplier
     
  12. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,546
    Location:
    south shields
    Ratings:
    +15,101
    where you used to have to run a lead to each camera they now do single leads that are just split at each end with the connectors for the two cameras... there's enough length on the connectors so that any holes cut in panels etc only need to be big enough to take one of the connectors at a time..
    Andy
     
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  13. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,067
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    Ratings:
    +7,913
    i dont care how strong the gaffer tape is if it overheats, which they are prone to ,it will fall apart at best or catch light at worst just
    join the wires properly
     
  14. Mike800966

    Mike800966 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +84
    I picked up a switched fuse( using an addafuse unit) for the main supply. The other end of the cable harness, the camera end had a separate wire that you connect to the reversing light- on the back of the lampholder is fine. This makes the monitor switch to the low view camera when you engage reverse and saves a lot of messing around the gearbox housing.
    Two quick points.
    If rainwater runs off the roof over the cable then be very sure about sealing them, I also fitted a small bent ally water deflector above the feed in
    Dont set the main camera too high or it will be blinded by headlights and low sun
    It was a nice job to do but it will take time to do it neatly- thats why dealers charge so much to install them
    Also pick a nice day to do it
    Mike
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Mike,
    Fitted the rear view mirror mounted monitor and loom wiring.
    I managed to run it under the headlining and down behind the door pillar cover to the dash fuse board just got to select the fuse to tap into with the 'add a fuse'.
    I ran the camera cable down under the step trim and out with other cables in the pillar cover just behind the Drivers seat.
    Then along to the rear garage and up in mini-trunking through the interior wardrobe and directly out through the rear onto the camera :).
     
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  16. Sorted

    Sorted Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +7
     
  17. Mike800966

    Mike800966 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +84
    Sorry I cant help, mine is an older 2005 model Ducato but I got quite good advice from the Owners Manual as to which fuse boards were where and which fuse did what. Incidentally I found that time understanding the fuse layout was time well spent- you dont want to be doing it in the dark when something is not working just before you leave
    Mike
     
    • Like it Like it x 1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice