Hard Drive backup

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,059
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,824
    I have a Dell Inspiron laptop with 30Gb hard drive, I have just bought a 80GB hard drive and am wanting to clone the 30Gb so that I can restore it on the 80GB.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    a) What software?
    b) How?

    Regards

    ShiftZZ
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,349
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  3. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with Jim best software choice for backups and cloning instructions on how to do this are straight forward.

    Regards

    Also posible to make your backups appear as a virtual drive and extract any info just as you would with any drive
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2009
  4. Ralph-Dot

    Ralph-Dot Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    Billingham
    Ratings:
    +79
    but you need to connect the new HD to your computer to do this
     
  5. American Dream

    American Dream

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +155
    I have always used Norton Ghost and Partitionmagic for our customers previously.

    Used a dedicated PC and ide/sata 2.5" converters for it.

    I know people who use Acronis too.
     
  6. duetto owner

    duetto owner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    north surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
    i prefer ghost finding it easier to use, also some of the free software for cloning i have found hit & miss when it comes to restore.
     
  7. duetto owner

    duetto owner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    north surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
  8. Phil

    Phil

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use Iomega Automatic Backup Pro in conjunction with an Iomega 250 GB External Drive. It backs up any files as they change and by default keeps the last 6 updates, this can be increased ( or reduced ) if required.

    It has 2 main modes - System backup and Data backup.

    Phil.
     
  9. vaughan

    vaughan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've recently upgraded my HP 6720s from 80 to 320Gb hard drive. I used Acronis True Image and it was totally painless. I then bought a hard drive case from ebay for just over a fiver and put the old 80Gb sata drive into it. You now have an extra hard drive. I put Linux on it and use it sometimes for internet work as it is quicker than Windows.:Smile:
    Vaughan
     
  10. stuc100

    stuc100

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Have tried all the above, at cost, and found them unreliable. I now use the following and have had no problems. Plus it's free.

    No fancy GUI but it does what it says on the tin!

    Clonezilla

    Get youself an external harddrive and install this software on it. Boot from it and backup multiple PC's to the one external drive as often as you like. Not automatic but reliable.

    Stu
     
  11. Braunston

    Braunston

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi,

    Downloaded a copy of Clonezilla yesterday and it appears to work very well here's a youtube video giving what appears to be a fair comparassion between it and Acronis

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nHur5BvV6o]YouTube - Clonezilla vs Acronis[/ame]
     
  12. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,343
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +93,114
    I use Acronis, its superb.:thumb: I couldn't watch all the video above as after about 3 minutes I lost the will to live :Smile:
     
  13. Braunston

    Braunston

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi, I must agree he does go on and on and on, but in the end he makes some very valid (in my opinion) suggestions, i think the summary in my opinion is one is free and the other you have pay for, albeit i think there was a suggestion that some backup drives ship with Acronis ?free.

    Being a cheapskate I bet you can't guess which one I chose :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page