Free Member
May 7, 2015
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Concorde Charisma
Exp
Since May 2015
I know... I know.... I expect there are many and varied gestures for each and every occasion! What I'm wondering is what set of gestures folk use when directing each other in tight situations?

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
There is a standard set of hand signals used for directing drivers of large vehicles, used by qualified "banksmen" in places such as construction sites, parking areas etc. Was trained and qualified when I was a coach driver.

I'll not go into details here but the most important thing we learned was to make the signals CLEAR and POSITIVE, exaggerated if necessary and always making sure you could see the driver in the mirrors. I always cringe when I see "the other half" waggling a finger whilst standing directly behind the motorhome. I'll admit to occasionally having words and ending up getting out and checking for myself despite a good reversing camera and properly adjusted mirrors.

And that's another subject! You can only judge position and distance accurately if you have something to refer to, so you should just be able to see the side of your vehicle at the edge of the mirrors.

Tin hat on! :gum:

Jun 30, 2010
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
1992 VW Auto sleeper Mono
Exp
Since 2005 this time
I find the biggest problem when you are guiding other drivers into a position, especially a tight one, is, the driver doesn't look at the "pointer" standing in front of him.
Working on a Roll on Roll off ferry and Trans Tasman, that was our biggest bug bear, drivers ignoring the hand signals and looking in the mirrors.
However, reversing a M/H on the peg is a totally different situation, and the flippy flap signals :hot:Mrs McRangi comes out with at times, followed by the look of horror and the paniced thump on the side of the M/H generally tells me all is well. :hugs:

Almost! :dance2:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements