LIFE MEMBER
Aug 13, 2015
N Yorks
Funster No
MH
Hymer B 674
Exp
Since 2015
Hi We would like to use a halogen oven in our van. We have a dometic oven which I find useless. I remember that some Funsters have said that they store their halogen ovens in their oven. Would a halogen oven fit inside a dometic? If so which one? Any other thoughts on halogens?

Doctor Dave

Free Member
May 18, 2015
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
7 years followed by a break of 11 years and then 4+ years but given up now
Just wondered why the dometic oven is useless - does it have a fault?

Dave

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Hils and Glenns

Hils and Glenns

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 13, 2015
N Yorks
Funster No
MH
Hymer B 674
Exp
Since 2015
Hi Dr Dave. I don't know if it has a fault. I am new to this, but I find it very slow to heat up. To be honest I haven't used it much, just the grill for toast and that just dries the bread out. Also its quite high up and I can't see in it I'm 5ft 3 and three quarters:))

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Aug 30, 2012
Home of the war horse
Funster No
MH
burstnar T640
Exp
Don't buy a 7 liter as they are too small a 10 or 11 liter is much better
Our oven in van is not bad but Elaine prefers to use halogen oven for roasts and such it's greedy on power though inverter
As for toast the dometic is useless as you say we use a standard a cheap pop up toaster
Great when we have hook up but if we are wilding on battery's and solar we have to be careful not to flatten battery's
The best thing we have ever bought is a small slow cooker it's used a lot for curries pot roasts and soups
It's not often we are on hookup we tend mainly to work though inverter
2 100 amp battery's and 280 watt of solar power
Summer in England just about keeps up with our power use
But when we where in morocco and where we are now in Croatia we have power to do as we please

Upvote 0
Jun 1, 2015
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
On and off since 1990