Gravelines - everyone knows but me

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by mjltigger, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    One of those things everyone knows so nobody writes down. I am itinerary planning for next weekend and programming my Chinese Sat nav... Where is gravelines aire (by which I mean what do I put in the Chinese Sat nav to find it in the middle of the night)

    Also what is everyone's plan B if the aire is full when you get there?
     
  2. philw111

    philw111 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    Moray Firth
    If it makes you feel better, I don't know either (y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Chinky sat nav - go to destination screen where you would normally put in address postcode, at the bottom of that screen there is a tab that says "more" this then gives you the coordinate option - Gravelines is N 50 59`16.287 E 2 7`20.711 Hope this helps - or other option is 1 Rue Du Port, 59820 Gravelines France
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Thanks @Toxic Clown programmed in now.. very excited about my trip.. hope there is sleeping space at the aire.. have booked a site in Holland for the rest of the weekend... Woohoooo
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  5. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,038
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Download sets of Aires POI? If full there are others nearbye. Have never not got on.....
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    2,975
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    I use the Vicarious Aires book - it has GPS coordinates, which I assume your sat nav can use. Your sat nav may need you to choose what format the coordinates are in. The book's are in degrees and decimal minutes. The Aire at Gravelines is at N50 59.310 E002 07.363
     
  7. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Thanks judge.. I'm heading that way soon but I'm on holiday so the laptop won't get turned on until Monday and I can't seem to get the Bluetooth internet to work from the Sat nav to my android..
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,239
    Likes Received:
    15,222
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I use a web site called POI editor to zoom to the location
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  9. horshamjack

    horshamjack Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    602
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8,137
    Likes Received:
    9,303
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Someone on here , only the other day put a video on of how to get there from the motorway, can't find it at the moment(n)
     
  11. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8,137
    Likes Received:
    9,303
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Can't for the life of me find it now, can anyone else remember it or am I dreaming:doh:
     
  12. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Google knows (y) and when you have address Google earth will give you the co-ords.
    If full,find one that isn't :)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. davanne

    davanne Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    7,458
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    No I remember looking at it too:)
     
  14. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,808
    Likes Received:
    4,089
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    throw the sat nav away . you dont need it . been traveling for years never used one . get a map . much easier. have an adventure .
     
  15. laser101uk

    laser101uk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    862
    Location:
    Basingstoke
     
    • Like it Like it x 9
  16. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    I am still in contract so haven't switched to a decent European roaming deal yet.. that's a Christmas thing.

    Each to their own. I have an adventure but use my Sat nav to make sure I know where I'm going. I can't read maps as I drive and Ms Tiggs is cartographically challenged. The Sat nav lets me me spontaneous without missing the ferry/train

    That's very useful thank you.. I know all these things exist but I can never find them when I need them..
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. Eeyore

    Eeyore Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    414
    When you get to Gravelines aire there is very good, free, no strings WiFi there. You will see it when you look at your WiFi settings, log in using your e- mail address and you will be sent a code. That code is valid every time you use that aire. It gives you one hour ( usage time not actual time, you log in and out) per 24 hours, renewed automatically.

    I keep an email address especially for this sort of registration so that my normal email address does not get spammed or copied.

    There is quite a bit of space at Gravelines but don' t park where the signs tell you not to - ie the bulk of the estuary side area. This is parking for the fishermen and boat owners and you will be unpopular if you do !
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  18. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,058
    Likes Received:
    10,416
    Location:
    Dorset
    • Like it Like it x 1
  19. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Trowbridge
  20. orridge

    orridge Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Should be plenty of room At Gravelines, if not Grand Fort Phillipe is the other side of the harbour.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
Loading...

Share This Page