Shrewsbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer c544gt
Exp
1 year
Hi
Hope someone can help me

I have Garmin 660 camper sat nav and I have never used or entered gps co ordinates before

If seems a minefield

Looked in the various books for campsite and asci sites

I’ve tried to input to my Garmin.

Either does recognise them or I need to convert them some how

I’m baffled by them

Do I need to be a mathematician

Can somebody please help

I can see on my Garmin there are 3 formats of number availabile to enter

How do I know which is what

As I said before
I have no knowledge of this before

Help appreciated
Thanks

RowleyBirkinQC

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 20, 2014
Dazed & Confused
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
I would guess you need to identify the coordinate type/format in use in the reference book and select the appropriate option in the Satnav before entering such?

Perhaps this link may help explain the different coordinate formats (DD, DMS, DMM etc)?:-

http://www.ubergizmo.com/how-to/read-gps-coordinates/

I also have little knowledge about such, but using Google you can also find sites which convert from one coordinate format to another.

Falcon 269

Free Member
Jul 11, 2013
Melton Mowbray, UK
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I have the Garmin 660, too.

Under Settings: Units & Time: Position Format you will Coordinate Format. Select this and you will have several choices. The 3 you are most likely to encounter are part way down the list:

h ddd.dddddd (decimal degrees)

h ddd. mm.mmmm' (degrees & decimal minutes)

h. ddd. mm'. ss. ss'' (degrees, seconds and minutes)

You can read all about these here: https://www.maptools.com/tutorials/lat_lon/formats

For your purposes right now, ACSI shows site positions in degrees, seconds and minutes so select and Save this in your device. Simply enter the coordinates as shown in the ACSI site into the Coordinates option under Where To.