GPS Coordinates

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by Figaro, Oct 10, 2016.

  1. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +1,827
    I`ve got a Tom Tom Via sat nav which I`ve found ok but thought I would try using it with GPS coordinates. All worked well until I tried to enter one with a - at the start, eg -8.395835
    There is no - on the keypad for GPS entry, so how do I enter it please. I tried the other symbol options and none seem work :(
    Where am I going wrong ?

    Latitude
    43.370873
    Longitude
    -8.395835

    La Coruna Spain
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,565
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,957
    I guess -8 would be west so W 8. or 8. W
     
  3. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,474
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,836
    Is it not the degrees sign?
     
  4. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    Ratings:
    +3,532
    I know it's stating the 'bleeding obvious' but is there not an East/West setting? Have you tried prefixing the numbers with W or E?
    There must be some way round it.

    Richard.
     
  5. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +1,827
    The Latitude is automatically prefixed with W and the Longitute with E
    It`s not the degree sign, I tried that
     
  6. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,474
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,836
    Ok was just a guess. I don't use co ordinates that often. Maybe google can help.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +1,827
    good idea, I`ll try
     
  8. Roadrunner_644

    Roadrunner_644 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +12
    On my VIA you can use coordinates after tapping on screen then "view map" - "find" - click arrow on right and choose "latitude longitude" - and the coordinate keyboard comes up so you can use

    Latitude
    N43.370873
    Longitude
    W8.395835

    Makes sure the setting in units/coordinate display is set for degrees d.d for that format.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,104
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,167
    The minus symbol means west.....its west of the meridian line so enter as W8.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,045
    Location:
    Rochdale, Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,379
    Try clicking on the E and see if it changes to W

    Works on my Snooper.
     
Loading...

Share This Page