Free Member
Sep 26, 2012
Preston
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, as we are new to our new motorhome life we have many questions to ask but the first is how to get out of the UK and over to France with our two little dogs and the cheapest way.

stcyr

Free Member
Apr 11, 2011
Normandie
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
On & off, since 1966 - fulltime since 2005
Hallo and :welcome:

We used DFDS last week, £39 each way, but it's gone up to £70ish at the moment. Have a look at P&O and Seafrance (the new one) :thumb:

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Hi Bernie

As your van is 7.26 long and 3.20 high you may find you end up paying more on ferries (ie for anything over 6m you sometimes have to pay a supplement). We used to go on ferries but now use our Tesco vouchers and exchange them for Eurotunnel deals vouchers as you get 3 x face value so it usually only costs us £40 in Tesco vouchers (Eurotunnel full price is generally around £126-£132 for the cheaper fairs which are often still at good times) and we pay any balance in cash, it then costs us around £6 to post the deal vouchers to Eurotunnel (special delivery), so total cost is around £40 deals, £12 balance (max), £6 postage = £58. The only other cost, regardless of which operator you go with, is for the dogs which is usually £30 per dog (return) and has to be paid for in cash, not in vouchers.