Glomex - a new dome?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Judge Mental, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,693
  2. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,965
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +9,889
    Heres the footprint for it if youve not seen it yet
     

    Attached Files:

  3. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,263
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,050
    yeah saw this recently. Whats positive is when you get a similar product it normally results in a bit of a price war. Lets hope so.:thumb:
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,091
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,126
    yeah right !!!!:roflmto:

    i doubt it with a 30cm dish though..if you want uk tv in spain and italy that is :Sad:
     
  5. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,965
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +9,889
    I know what you saying John
    Looks more like the fall out chart for an Atomic bomb:RollEyes:
    Dropped in the middle of France:Doh:
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,091
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,126
    :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  7. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,693
    Only 6 kg........

    be interesting to see how it compares with KVH/Camos and the like::bigsmile:
     
  8. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,693
    "Control unit - with 3 preloaded satellites Astra 1 19° E, Astra 2 28° E and Hotbird 13° E."

    Are 3 satellite enough choice to get program further south in Spain etc.......How would you go about finding Arab sat for instance?

    its dish is 500x300 I fink, is that not as big as the others?
     
  9. JohnM

    JohnM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    651
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +180
    Lucky judge.iI asked same question last week with no replys.Thank you
    JohnM
     
  10. Phil

    Phil Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1
    Shouldn't this be posted in the Jokes Section ??

    Phil.
     
  11. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,693
    You've lost me......Why?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  12. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +2,388
    The dish size is 46cm x 26cm - virtually the same as a Camos 30. I think the footprint 'claim' refers to any signal from the Astra 2 satellite, i.e. 2D / 2N / 2S / 2C, in which case the UK (2D) signal will be significantly more constrained than the area shown on the map. If the Glomex unit's performance is equivalent to the Camos 30, then 2D will run out around the southern edge of France, and just into Germany in the east.
    I note that the dome is just 50cm wide, so the 46cm dish must be pivoted centrally, rather than running on a radial track as is the case with Camos, which has a dome of 75cm diameter.

    I am a newcomer to satellite TV in the motorhome (Camos 40) and have yet to try it abroad, so I based the above on maps from Roadpro's website.

    Philip
     
  13. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,263
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,050

    Well johnluc I will be giving my Camos 30 a thrash in the Alps in the next couple of days so will give it a report.
     
  14. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,701
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +852
    Did you write the report on your Camos 30??

    Ginny
     
  15. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,263
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,050
    Hi Ginny

    Not really, only to say it worked a treat throughout the French alps and not once failed to find a signal.:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page