Gland problems.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Bushtrekker, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. Bushtrekker

    Bushtrekker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +120
    Last night I put the solar panel on the roof and tonight I've fitted the control box. The only problem is the thickness of the walls and roof and I'm struggling to find a gland long enough to go through. If all else fails I've bought a connection strip protection box so that I can run the cable in from the side and glue it down, then cover it with sealant. Has anyone else hit this problem and how did you get round it?
     
  2. jhorsf

    jhorsf

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,079
    I thought this was going to be medical:ROFLMAO: like that embarrassing bodies program
     
  3. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,151
  4. Bushtrekker

    Bushtrekker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +120
    I've seen those.

    Unfortunately I'm on the ferry to France on Monday, so haven't got time to get one unless I can find someone who does them locally.
     
  5. jhorsf

    jhorsf

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,079
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,539
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +24,531
    if not they sell them in France as well :thumb:

    you wont find a cable gland anywhere long enough to go right through the roof.....just to save you looking any more. :roflmto:

    if you use the type Jay suggests then i suggest you pass the cables through the roof then seal the cables to the roof.

    then fit the box and seal that to the roof.

    then tighten the gland nuts....job done.

    first seal is just in case the box seal fails.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2012
  7. bigbaz

    bigbaz Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    aldridge
    Ratings:
    +2
    Try :- Central Cables LTD,Unit 8,Brindleys Business Park,Chaseside Drive,Cannock,
    WS11 7GD. They might have what your looking for and there in Cannock.
     
  8. Bushtrekker

    Bushtrekker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +120
    Thanks for the replies.

    It's now fitted. I used an end entry connecting block box from BandQ, then drilled the smallest possible hole to get the cables through in the roof, the same diameter in the box, pulled the cables through and Sikaflexed around them in the hole, put a layer of Sikaflex under the box and sealed all round the box. I'm just waiting for it to go off overnight in case it moves when I'm routing cables.
     
Loading...

Share This Page