generators

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Mart grump, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. Mart grump

    Mart grump Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +13
    can anyone tell me if a generator with a power output of 1.6 kw will run a large motorhome
     
  2. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +3,365
    Depends what you want to use?lots of people prefer to go solar and fit as many panels and batteries as they can.
     
  3. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ratings:
    +2,502
    Whatever you get, make sure it's loud(y)
     
    • Funny Funny x 7
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Mi58ck

    Mi58ck Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +199
    I've got a Honda 2kw and it supplied my motorhome and daughters caravan for week early June no problem,about 90 mins per day.Cost me £7 in petrol
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,256
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,589
    You will most likely need to turn off some appliances to run others........kettle and water boiler (on mains) won't run together.
    Only real way to know is add all the appliance watts you are likely to use together and see the total.
    All 230v appliances should have a data label with amps or input watts.
     
  6. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,523
    not even enough for a house kettle. but if its only for a few lights and charging the batteries tv you should be ok.
     
  7. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    South Staffs
    Ratings:
    +3,888
    We havn't had a good generator thread for ages.:)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. Mi58ck

    Mi58ck Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +199
    We did use a bit of common sense and boiled our water on the gas
     
  9. PhilG

    PhilG Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +2,190
    For anything other than kettles and water heater, 1KVA is fine. You dont need to boil water on electric, thats what your gas is for .

    As was said, a couple of hours in the day will keep your batteries topped up, i have a 2Kva Honda that will run an A class and a decent size caravan, plus 2 double tube lights and two fridges without even breaking a sweat .

    A bigger one doing nowt will cost more to run that a small one running hard , but its bigger and heavier.

    My freind has a dinky little E start job that he has built in to his garage , so he can ping it on from inside if he needs to, just has to be well ventilated and the pipe extended
     
  10. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,068
    Location:
    Beds
    Ratings:
    +4,912
    I've heard this reasoning several times before. If you didn't top your batteries up with a genny every day, how long would you last? We get at least 3 days on a 90AmH battery.
     
  11. wigster

    wigster Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,825
    Location:
    Not lost but not far off
    Ratings:
    +1,586
    Ive got a solar panel that normally does the job . At this years Newbury rally where the weather , well lets say it weren't sunny , after 3 days the batteries were getting low .
    My old van came with an onboard 2 kw genny . Having read allot of genny threads before on here i was loath to start it up for fear of being an outcast (n).
    Stepped outside for a ciggie , oh no outcast again :) , 3 vans near us were running them. On it went did its job no problems.

    I need more solar but, if the suns not out, its nice to know if push comes to shove etc that the option is there. (y)
     
  12. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8,562
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +27,238
    Our MH has a 3 litre diesel generator under the bonnet, tops my batteries up when / if needed (y)
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. wigster

    wigster Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,825
    Location:
    Not lost but not far off
    Ratings:
    +1,586
    Also true mines got a 2.7 litre Diesel , yours is bigger than mine :)
     
  14. wigster

    wigster Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,825
    Location:
    Not lost but not far off
    Ratings:
    +1,586
    I suppose the annoyance with gennys is when people just use them to power there 230 volt gubbins without any consideration for others , i can go along with that .
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2016
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. wigster

    wigster Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,825
    Location:
    Not lost but not far off
    Ratings:
    +1,586
    So to answer the OP , a 1.6 kw will provide 230 volt and charge batteries but wont run everything as if you were in a house on mains . As @pappajohn says (y)
     
  16. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,980
    It's all about what you NEED to operate. I have a first generation Honda, which puts out .7Kw. It is used primarily to charge a mobility scooter, off grid, (and run the hair dryer!,) it also puts a charge back into the batteries. But don't expect to operate as if on shore power?.. Unless you have 4kw or more as in many RV's

    Better to get as much battery capacity as the payload will allow and use dedicated 12v stuff. Or inverter. And a couple of decent solar panels. With gas for cooking and heating and frig.

    Pete
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2016
  17. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,552
    And when they point their exhaust at their neighbour :)
    I noticed what I thought a very sensible requirement on one group's rally rules recently - generators must be sited on the user's habitation side :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  18. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,534
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    Ratings:
    +5,880
    We have a 3kva generator built in that will run everything in the van, including the air con unit, rated at 2kw.
    A lot of electrical items will require more than their stated power consumption when they switch on, for example, in our last van, we had an 800 watt microwave oven but our 1kva generator would almost cut out when we tried to microwave anything, so we didn't bother. It also wouldn't run the Hab heating system.
    I would go for a generator that has at least a third more power than the most power hungry item you are going to use, but use it considerately.
     
  19. PhilG

    PhilG Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +2,190
    I have no idea, because i have never done it , but having no power isnt something i can live with, having everything go flat in the evening or overnight isn't an option for us.
     
  20. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Ratings:
    +3,121
    I fill timed in a caravan for a while and on a site with no mains. There were 3 of us on the site and we all had big 2kva at least 4 stroke generators. We used long cable runs and put them down the end of the field. Filling up fuel in the rain was an issue.

    I used about 2 litres of fuel a day basically using electric as if I was in a house.
     
Loading...

Share This Page