Banned
Jul 9, 2012
normanton
Funster No
MH
fiat ducatti auto rller 5
Exp
im a newbie
is it safe to drive your m/h with the gas turned on.i don't mean to use when driving but just turned on at the bottle.steve

Chris

LIFE MEMBER
May 5, 2010
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
10 years
We always turn ours off, just in case we have a crash.

You don't really want gas circulating round your van in that event.

Not sure who told me that though.

sdc77

Free Member
Jan 28, 2013
Weardale, Co Durham
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since 2011
I'm sure that in almost every journey you make leaving your gas on will make no difference.. But it's not advised due to the obvious safety implications.

Some people will leave their gas on..
Most don't

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

daisy mae

Free Member
Mar 12, 2013
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
C class Coachbuilt
Exp
I`m a newbie, now 1 year
Good morning, the sun is out here at the moment,

The first owner of my MH always left his gas on at the bottle end, off at the taps in the van, I turn mine off.

bobandjanie

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 28, 2008
Javea, Spain
Funster No
MH
Pilote V600g
Exp
It depends on what your regulator your motorhome has fitted, our motorhome has the secumotion regulator and also the rupture protection hoses, so yes we leave it On.::bigsmile:

Link Removed

We had it on our last motorhome, but had trouble with the regulator, so put a normal one on, and then turned the gas Off when driving. :thumb:

Bob.

PS. With this fitted, you can use the heating while driving.

Last edited:

ShiftZZ

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2008
Dark Side of the Moon
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2007
We always turn it off, all the instructions that we have stated that it should be off. Makes sense.

Don Quixote

Free Member
Jul 29, 2012
Lost in La Mancha, Spain
Funster No
MH
VW T6 Campervan
Exp
Not long enough, but a little common sense helps..........