Gas Regulator?

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by HomerB564, Jul 16, 2018.

  1. HomerB564

    HomerB564 Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +11
    What would be the symptoms of a faulty gas regulator?

    Back in March we had some intermittent issues with our Truma boiler starting/running and I put it down to not being serviced for many years.
    We've now got problems with the Fridge igniting. Again this had not been serviced for many years so I cleaned the burner unit and fitted a new gas jet. I also cleaned the ignition electrode.
    The fridge still struggles to ignite and it sounds like a lack of gas.

    I'm now thinking it may be a gas-supply issue as both fridge and boiler share similar symptoms. Yes, weve got enough gas in the tanks!

    The moho is fitted with Gaslow and has a bulkhead regulator that was fitted more than ten years ago.
    Last year we had a full Habitation Service that supposedly checked the gas-system pressure but I must confess, I'm not convinced about the usefulness of this Hab-Service.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs
    Ratings:
    +6,442
    You may have answered your own question... I think i’d invest in a new reg... just to eliminate.. else it’ll bug you...
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. TerryL

    TerryL Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +4,051
    What about the hob burners? Does one of them appear to turn itself down when you light another? If so a classic symptom of a failing regulator and as you say it is over 10 years old so it ought to be replaced anyway. When my last hab check was done Dave Newell replaced the original (10 yrs old) with the spare I always carry, despite not having any problems.
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,959
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +35,560
    Go with the last answer.. especially if you have a Truma.. renowned for failing

    buy a Clesse ..
     
  5. HomerB564

    HomerB564 Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ive just looked at my gas reg and its 37mb, 6kg/hr... Does this mean the system was originally set-up for Butane rather than Propane? I read somewhere that "continental vans" (mine is a German import) are mostly set-up for Butane. Or does it mean that I'm running on old specs.... new refillable Gaslows only seem to be 30mb??
    The van is 2004 Hymer fitted with twin Gaslow bottles and we top-up with LPG both in UK and abroad.

    Maybe the original owners didn't change the gas-reg when they fitted Gaslow?
     
  6. Wagoneer

    Wagoneer Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +488
    Agree with the above but where have you been filling up the Gaslow ?

    I found that after regularly filling up in mainland Europe, the pressure dropped significantly. In UK, you get 100% propane but not necessarily in mainland Europe. After purging the Gaslow and filling up in UK, full pressure was restored. I know, because I have a Gaslow manual changeover system WITH pressure gauge. The Truma boiler doesn't like low pressure - it's gas hungry and would probably trip out.

    With regard to the fridge, have you checked the earth return at the burner/ignitor? Mine refused to light and traced it to a corroded piece of angled metalwork supporting the ignitor probe. This acts as part of the earth return system.

    PS . Just read the OP's latest comment. I had a 2002 Hymer and that came with 30mb bulkhead regulator.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,959
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +35,560
    .Since September 2003 a European standard (EN 1949) has made the supply pressure the same for both gases throughout the EU at 30mbar.


    I had a 2001 Hymer import, and changed it to 30mb when I installed the Gaslow system. Had no problems with any appliances.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. HomerB564

    HomerB564 Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hey Wagoneer, you've mentioned several very useful things...
    We first noticed probs with the Truma (cutting out) when we had filled LPG at base of mountains... we were heading high Alps for a fortnight of skiing and the temp dropped to -8. I just put the issue down to low temp causing drop in pressure. Maybe it was also the LPG?

    WRT the fridge, the ignition system seems to spark ok as I get a woof as the gas fires. Is then goes out when I release the button... even after holding it long enough for gas-cutout to disable.
    As I'm writing this I'm becoming more certain its the gas-reg
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Love it Love it x 1
  9. HomerB564

    HomerB564 Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +11
    thanks Scotjimland,
    I think I'm going to fit a new reg.
    I'm just concerned about the big difference in flow rate... existing one is 6kg/hr versus the new Gaslow reg and Clesse ones both at 1.5kg/hr.
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,959
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +35,560

    never had any problems with mine..

    according to the specs, It has a 21.kw flow rate should be more than adequate for a fridge, say 500 watt + water heater 2kw and hob 3 burners 5 kw
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    34,271
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +31,072
    Holding the button simply bypasses the thermocouple (gas cutoff) until its hot enough to hold off on its own when the button is released.
    I would suspect a faulty thermocouple.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice