Free Member
Nov 29, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
First European tour and naively thought gas bottles would all have the same connection. Having run out in Switzerland it turns out every country has a different system! So, being close to France and knowing we'll travel back via Calais we figure the French system is the way to go. However, having tried both a hypermarket and diy store we've been told twice that we can't just swap the connector pipe (pigtail) from the regulator. But this would seem the logical way.
Anyone else had this problem?

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Anyone else had this problem?

We all have this problem. Some choose the Gaslow route.

Long termers sometimes backfeed a local cyclinder+regulator into their BBQ connector.

I can't see why, if you have a regulator screwed to a Brit bottle then flex pipe, you can't connect that pipe to a local bottle plus regulator.

I believe in Spain they can't sell you a tank with a gas certificate for the MH.

Apr 15, 2015
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago E-Line 50
Exp
Since May 2011
However, having tried both a hypermarket and diy store we've been told twice that we can't just swap the connector pipe (pigtail) from the regulator.
Don't see why not.

If your van has a bulkhead mounted regulator then you just need the correct pigtail to connect between the regulator and the bottle. I think most European pigtails have a 21.8mm nut (stand to be corrected) on the bottle end and this may connect direct to the bottle or require an adaptor to connect between the end of the hose and the bottle.

I have a Gasit re-fillable system but used to carry a variety of adaptors for the purpose and have certainly used French gas bottles via this method, specifically Antargaz bottles with a clip-on adaptor to connect to the 21.8mm nut on the pig tail.