Fuse for cigarette lighter - Fiat x 250

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by PhilandMena, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Ratings:
    +5,481
    The title says it all really. Blew the fuse earlier to day and need to replace it! anybody know where it is !
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,391
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,863
    Depends on the year Phil
    Varies between earlier drivers side fusebox and later engine bay fuse box

    Early is fuse 44 20amp
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2015
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,391
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,863
    Later are fuses 14 and 15 in the engine bay 10 & 15 amp
    So probably the 15amp!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Ratings:
    +5,481
    Thanks Andy, you have saved me again. It's a 2011 fiat and I'll have the bonnet up tomorrow after I murder this bottle of wine...or two.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  5. jetlag03

    jetlag03 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    17260 Charente Maritime
    Ratings:
    +470
    First things first as they say
     
  6. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,381
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +21,979
    I blew mine when we were in Spain earlier this year trying to use a cheap splitter to run two things at the same time, it was F15 and 15A. I didn't have a spare but F30 is the same size and as this was for mirror demisting, something I could happily do without, I just swapped them.

    The cheap splitter went in the bin!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. RidersofRohan

    RidersofRohan Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +758
    I think the fuse is in the fuse box in the cab. No need to lift the bonnet you could do it now between sips of wine!
     
  8. Southampton

    Southampton Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +306
    I blew mine on a 2012 Fiat and it was under the bonnet. Same scenario as DBK, using a cheap splitter.
     
  9. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,381
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +21,979
    You will need a cross point screwdriver to open the fuse box. It is on the right under the bonnet. And some thin nosed pliers to get the fuse out unless you have very strong fingers. They are tiny little things.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. RidersofRohan

    RidersofRohan Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +758
    Mines a 2011 Fiat and I'm sure it's in cab. I changed the fuse there and the ciggy thing started working soon after!!!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,391
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,863
    Registered in 2011 doesn't mean it was manufactured in 2011
     
  12. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +3,306
    The 2013 ones are under the bonnet & the manual has the 2 socket fuses listed the wrong way round. Or you could say that the guys on the line wired them the wrong way round, but at least they did put the right fuse in each one for the socket they had wired them to.

    Don't know if they are all like that, but I know mine isn't the only one.
     
  13. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Ratings:
    +5,481
    Fuse 44 in drivers compartment. Book say's 20 AMP but it had a 15 AMP one in so changed like for like. Now back in business again. I have a 3 way splitter that I connect to the gigarette lighter. The small spring which keeps the fuse in place and in contact with the base of the cigarette lighter had slipped down and made contact with one of the side arms resulting in a short. I have purchased a replacement but should have done the simple repair in the first place. Never mind, I now have a spare.
    Thank's again to one and all. This is why we are the top forum.
     
  14. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,391
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,863
    Also on fuse 44 it feeds both outlets
     
Loading...

Share This Page