Fridge

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Josephine55, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. Josephine55

    Josephine55 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Penzance Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +8
    Is it safe to run your fridge on both gas and 12volt when you are driving ?
     
  2. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Beds
    Ratings:
    +4,851
    Not safe to have gas on when driving. No need with 12v and a safety risk in the event of a collision etc. (If you have an autoshut off device on your gas supply, it may be OK but I don't know how good they are).
     
  3. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,025
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +5,356
    Apart from the above you will supply too much heat. You'll find your fridge will dislike that just as much as too little.
     
  4. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs
    Ratings:
    +5,275
    My gas is never off... I do have a 5g safety crash shut-off... But I don't run fridge on gas whilst driving...

    As it would be pointless... If 12v available IMO

    And a tad dodgy if stopping for fuel... That is why it takes 15mins to switch back to gas from 12v.. When you stop.... (AES fridge/freezer) To allow for diesel filling etc..
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,103
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,153
    If you have an AES fridge (Automatic Energy Selection) you can't run two power sources at the same time.
    If gas is present it will over-ride 12v.
     
  6. Terry

    Terry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,878
    Location:
    South yorks
    Ratings:
    +6,996
    HI JUST HOW DO YOU RUN IT ON BOTH SOURCES ?A,E,S will only give one source and a manual turn will do the same YOU select gas or 12v
    terry
     
  7. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,559
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Ratings:
    +10,959
    I don't have AES in my old bus - but even with my jurassic fridge you can't run both, have to turn the knob to select 240v, 12v or gas.
     
  8. Josephine55

    Josephine55 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Penzance Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ok thanks ...
     
  9. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6,988
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Ratings:
    +10,065
    On our AES 12 volt will override gas.

    Martin
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,091
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +27,908
    Same as ours.. In fact never had one that works the other way round..
    Order of self selecting preference is
    240v then gas
    or
    if the engine is started 12v to maintain what ever temperature the fridge / freezer is at
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,749
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    Ratings:
    +5,462
    we run ours on both when travelling as we both usually forget to switch gas of weve had no problems but we do switch it of when refilling with gas
     
  12. Fletton

    Fletton Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Nth East Lincs
    Ratings:
    +5,275
    My guess - if you do that... It'll not be both.... Just one or tuther... :)
     
  13. Mikescuba

    Mikescuba Funster

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Rhone Alps
    Ratings:
    +1,124
    In my van it all happens automatically. Gas when stationary,12 volt when on the move, and 240 volts when on electrical hook up. I don't have to touch anything other than switch it to auto.
     
Loading...

Share This Page