Fresh water tanks drain - Esprit (2008) (1 Viewer)

Nov 26, 2017
LEEDS
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Motorhome
Exp
7 years
Hi - I'm a new Dethleffs owner -just did our shakedown trip in our pre-loved 2008 Esprit. Having formerly owned a 2003 Autotrail, I'm massively impressed with both the build and design quality of Dethleffs - so many neat ideas, so well put together. However, the one aspect that seems odd to me is the arrangement for draining the fresh water tank. Having to dismantle the passenger seat and then put my arm (potentially) above the elbow in freezing cold water to pull out a little rubber bung is hardly my idea of "vorspruung durk technic". Is there some reasoning that I've missed behind the lack of an external drain tap? - and has anybody dome a retrofit to add one? Would be pleased to read people's comments and suggestions :)

JimboT

Free Member
Nov 6, 2013
Welwyn Garden City
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
what model have you got?
I have a 2008 advantage and you have to undo the red cover and then pull out the plug.
you can run the pump and empty most through the grey water tank.
Jim

OP
OP
Steve Kind
Nov 26, 2017
LEEDS
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Motorhome
Exp
7 years
what model have you got?
I have a 2008 advantage and you have to undo the red cover and then pull out the plug.
you can run the pump and empty most through the grey water tank.
Jim
Ha! Never thought of that - though it's not exactly elegant is it? Just don't get why the manufacturer doesn't put a simple drain tap om the outside ;)
As you say, there is one for the grey water

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999