Freezer

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by darklord, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. darklord

    darklord

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    I,m looking for a "tabletop" or 40-50ltr freezer that i would probably put in the garage of the MH. The normal Weaco etc etc, are very expensive, has anyone seen a 240 version that could possibly be run through an inverter. I,m assuming that overnight when not on 240v, the freezer would more or less retain its temp, so it could rum through the inverter the rest of the time??
     
  2. 656

    656

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Location:
    The universe
    Ratings:
    +291
  3. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,132
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    Ratings:
    +5,377
    hi, what ever you decide dont buy it till you have tried it with your inverter . certainly some fridges are fussy, work with some inverters but not others . a friend as tried a few inverters, finds some let it start then cut out. i ran my last fridge for 6 years with my inverter but it wont work his new fridge. a cheap chinese one from maroc seems to manage it . another mate just bought a new fridge he as the same problem. my old fridge died this year cant find a place that will let me try it first. think a good old seconhand one is the way.
    at home i power the house fridge and the fullsize freezer through the inverter in the truck . well it works in summer . extension lead into house.
    let us know how you get on .
     
  4. darklord

    darklord

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +1,245
  5. spannermanwigan

    spannermanwigan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    wigan, lancs
    Ratings:
    +209
  6. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,130
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Ratings:
    +9,175
    Can you post your findings please, I've been looking for one for ages must be a proper freezer though as some only do a set temp below ambient, not the same as a proper freezer.:thumb:
     
  7. darklord

    darklord

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    I will, but just a reminder, it is a FREEZER only i am looking at, no fridge needed as i have one in the MH.
     
Loading...

Share This Page