freesat receiver for home use ?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Jaws, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,129
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,456
    Looking for some info .

    Need a freesat HD receiver with record facility to replace an out going Sky box .
    BUT
    I need to know what box I can use that will have the ability to use the infrared remote eye system as on the Sky box.

    Suggestions please :)
     
  2. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7,163
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +18,585
    Just keep the Sky box.

    If you don't have any active paid subscriptions it effectively becomes a Freesat box. You need to leave your old viewing card in the slot.
     
  3. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,129
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,456
    But then you cannot record anything :-( ( I know cos that is what I have done ! )
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7,163
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +18,585
    Ah. Didn't know that.
     
  5. Pilote87

    Pilote87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Département 87
    Ratings:
    +306
    Hi John,

    Humax do a record / play box, but I am not sure what you mean by the remote infra-red system.

    J
     
  6. Terry and Jan

    Terry and Jan Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Saltash,Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +139
    Try ACDC TV in Hereford.
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,129
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,456
    Loads of em will do all I want but I do not know about the ability to use an eye..

    The eye is used if you watch TV in more than one room but do not want to keep going into the room where the box is to change channel.
    It is connected via the coax of the aerial system.. All that you have in the other viewing rooms is a little 'magic eye' that you point the remote control at

    Cheers for that.. If all else fails I will ring them :)
     
  8. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    Ratings:
    +4,797
    I *think* places like Maplins do wireless video senders/receivers with remote control capability...
     
  9. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,129
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,456
    Hmmm Tried them before.. even a really expensive one gave middling results.. and most use a frequency too close for comfort to wifi systems.. so cause often cause issues with that too
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,845
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    Ratings:
    +1,991
    Humax I have one that is also 12volt 4amp and1tb of memory

    Joe
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +257
    Freesat boxes do not have an RF output, so you cannot connect a Sky Magic eye to them.
    You will either need to use wireless AV sender / transmitter system.
    Or you can get a modulator, that connects to your Freesat boxes scart cable output, and to your RF cable. You can get some that also have magic eye functionality.

    Or get another cable run from your dish, and put you now defunct sky box in the other room. At least you will be able to watch live TV, but not anything recorded from the freesat box...? Useful solution when you and another family member want to watch two things at the same time
     
  12. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    Ratings:
    +5,876
    Freesat boxes are pretty cheap, it's easy to wire one up to a second tv, then you can watch different channels on each.
    I have a Humax pvr, luckily, it works with the same remote control as the TV ( Samsung) but you can get programmable remote controls quite cheaply now that will control everything with just the one handset.
    Harmony are good, All for One are cheap.
     
  13. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,129
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,456
    The cable run to where it is to be used from the dish would be extremely long.. Too long in my opinion even with top quality low loss coax..
    The dish has to be at the front of the house while the room it has to feed is at the very back..
    There is no way to feed the coax through the house and no way to get the coax in to the room without going to an external wall and then back on its self ( hard to explain but the cables would be about 30+ metres long .. Something that as an ex rigger and radio bod I am not happy to go with

    And there is also the point that it needs to go to 6 different rooms and feed 6 different tv's as the present system does

    If there is no way to use a remote magic eye then it looks like I shall abandon the whole idea and use the sky box without the ability to record

    Thinking it through, I suppose I might be able to find a PVR that has an analogue tuner.. Use the sky box ( which feeds the whole house via coax ) and run that in to PVR's located in the crucial rooms
    It is though, all getting silly complex ! :)
     
  14. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,761
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,679
    Just bought latest human sat box. Light year better then earlier incarnations....Just £200 a bargain I think for what it does. Has TV on demand built in...
     
  15. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,307
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Ratings:
    +3,272
    Where in the UK did you buy it?
    What model is it?

    Thanks
    Mel
     
  16. barsteward

    barsteward Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Todmorden
    Ratings:
    +1,894
  17. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,761
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,679
  18. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +257
    Are they better than non-human sat boxes....? :)
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  19. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Is there anyway to record to a sky box from a freesat box
     
  20. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +257
    No
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page