Frankia Dometic Oven igniter and internal light stopped working - where is fuse?

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by Hagstrom, Oct 23, 2018.

  1. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    It's all in the title. I think the fuse might have blown but don't know whether the fuse is on the Elektroblok 220-2 or elsewhere in van? Can't find anything in the manuals.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2018
  2. jumar

    jumar Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +2,485
    Hope someone has an answer soon.
     
  3. Abacist

    Abacist Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,955
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +3,463
    In the absence of any other replies my N +B Arto has a Dometic Tec Tower with a gas oven on the top and the fridge freezer also can operate on gas. There is a 10 amp fuse serving the Piezo ignition systems on both, a 3 Amp fuse for the auto cut off for both and a 30 amp fuse for the 12 volt supply to the fridge freezer. I imagine yours should be similar but I have a CBE control system not an Electrobloc.

    I hope that this may be of some use.
     
  4. bigtree

    bigtree Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,702
    Location:
    Not Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4,534
    That’s my only complaint about Frankia’s, no wiring diagram. :mad:
     
  5. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    14,597
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23,797
    Normally if a TecTower oven light & ignitor are fed via the fridge ignitor module which is fused separately from the EBL as it also feeds the fridge electronics. Hymers have a separate fuse block beside the EBL.
    A 2 amp fuse on Hymers, hope it's the fuse the module is the wrong side of £200.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    Hi,
    Think I've worked it out. Since I posted it's got dark and I've noticed shower, bathroom & bedroom lights are not working so tomorrow I'll check out the lighting fuses on the EBL. Thanks everyone.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  7. Margaritaman

    Margaritaman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +404
    E38A3C0B-4ADD-4185-91CB-411A0CE8873F.png Looks like the lights and oven are on the same circuit.
    Might be worth starting by checking Kreis (circuit) 1,2,3,...... fuses etc.

    Here’s the fuse layout on the EBL 220-2
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  8. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    Thanks MargaritaMan! I'll check those fuses.
     
  9. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    Hi,

    Thanks for your help. I've inspected all the fuses on the Elektroblok and none are blown. Don't know where to go from there. The Frankia agents at SMC Newark didn't seem ready to give advice as to where the fuse might be.
     
  10. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    14,597
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23,797
    Is it a TecTower?
    If so the power comes via the fridge ignitor block, on the back of the fridge black plastic box.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Abacist

    Abacist Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,955
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +3,463
    But when it was dark last night you said that the lighting circuits were not working and these would not run off the fridge ignitor block on the back of the fridge. Have you turned off the control panel and turned it on again to see if re-powering back on again will sort it out.

    Do you have both mains and 12 volt lighting? My N + B only has 12 volt lighting but maybe your mains circuit breaker or residual current device has tripped.

    Have to say I'm clutching at straws now with both lights and fridge not working.

    What is working on the 12 volt system? Are the batteries charged sufficiently?

    I find the dealer shortsighted with this attitude. A little help now and you are more likely to go back for servicing, repairs, damp checks and habitation checks etc!
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  12. jumartoo

    jumartoo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3,610
    Location:
    Alhama de Murcia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +42,769
    Come on @Hagstrom get your van sorted. We're looking forward to seeing you in the next few weeks or so.

    Hope Ros is well.

    It's very warm and sunny here and Executive is available :LOL:.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    Hi Abacist,

    The Van's lighting is solely 12v.

    The manual describes Circuit 1 controlling the consumer load, passenger side and circuit 2, the driver's side, on the EBL (which has turned out to have 220-4 printed on it, not 220-2). The fault appears to have taken out one of these circuits but both fuses are intact.

    The 12v supply has been isolated and reconnected several times to no avail. The consumer unit breakers are set properly.

    It doesn't have a TEC tower. I've spoken to AandN Caravans who repair EBLs and now suspect the EBL is defective and have ordered a replacement. Ouch! Running out of time as need to get the ferry to Bilbao next week.

    SMC Newark have since helped to pin down that the fuse will be on the ELB. But as above, all fuses still intact.
     
  14. jumartoo

    jumartoo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3,610
    Location:
    Alhama de Murcia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +42,769

    Ouch indeed .

    But hold this thought ....... NORWAY!!!
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    14,597
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23,797
    Have you checked the fuses with a meter not just looked at them?
     
  16. Abacist

    Abacist Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,955
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +3,463
    It has been running through my mind to say change the fuses anyway even if they don't look blown!
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  17. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    Yes, I've replaced the fuses with spares but did not test the ones I had taken out.
     
  18. Hagstrom

    Hagstrom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +465
    Replacement EBL220-4 scheduled to arrive tomorrow. Taking photos of the fuse population and connections ready for re-installation. Keeping fingers crossed this will sort out my problems!

    Can't say how helpful Martin Bushnell, of AandN Caravan Services has been in determining the possible problems, arranging to send me the replacement EBL and Udo Lang of Schaudt, Germany, in sorting out the remedial action to take after getting the "Defekt", "Er 1" message on the DT220.

    These people have been very understanding, informative and helpful.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  19. Abacist

    Abacist Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,955
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +3,463
    Good Luck with the replacement and I hope it sorts out your problem.

    I am in a similar position in that my Dometic RMDT 8505 Fridge, Freezer & Oven combination is dead as a dodo. Firstly the mains cooling packed up on our last trip away and now the gas and 12 volt have packed and the control panel and oven light and oven lighting/temperature knob are also dead.

    There are no fuses blown, no circuit breakers tripped nor the RCD has tripped.

    I have power to the PCB power block on the back of the fridge but it goes nowhere else so I've ordered a replacement at £155 and am waiting for it with just over a week to go before we depart for Germany!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  20. dpsuk999

    dpsuk999 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +583
    Hi, what was the remedial action taken for the “Defekt” and “Er1” please? Just Incase I get the same one day as I have the same DT220 with EBL220.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice