Free Member
Sep 7, 2014
North devon
Funster No
MH
Adria sonic supreme
Exp
Since 2015
we usually go to France in June and wander aimlessly around for a month using mostly aires. This year due to work commitments we can't go until July or maybe august , I was wondering how busy France actually got in high season, if we could still get on the aires,do we stay away from the coast, how busy does Brittany get?ypour thoughts would be appreciated, bearing in mind we live in north Devon which gets inundated with tourists in the summer,, cheers!

Teuchter

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
We avoid France from the 15th July to the 25th August - popular area much too busy for us!

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
My job meant we had no choice but to holiday in July/August for 30 years and it didn't stop us going to France. Having also been one of those who inundated N Devon in summer I'd say you won't notice much difference.

As far as aires go in the high season, the trick is to aim for medium to larger sized aires (rather than tiny ones) and try to arrive around mid-morning when the natural turnover is greatest. People will also tend to stay put on aires over weekends in summer so if you're planning to hang around anywhere, try to get there before Friday lunchtime. Also keep an eye out for when French national holidays are on as the traffic will be crap.