Flue cleaning Thetford fridge (1 Viewer)

Mar 1, 2014
Guernsey
Funster No
MH
Mobilvetta K Yacht 85
Exp
I'm a newbie
I was thinking it’s about time I had a go at cleaning the flue on our Thetford N3160 3 way fridge. I’ve read up, in general, on how to do this. I had a look at the top of the flue that is well below the top vent and I can’t even squeeze my hand down to it. I need to get the cap off and remove the heat diffuser wire before rodding but have no idea how the cap is held on. I’ve read that it’s easier to slide the fridge out a bit for better access but it’s looks like mine is silicones on the back edge so I don’t really want break that. Anybody else done this job or have any ideas? We’re in Guernsey with no access to any motorhome mobile techs etc.

Mar 6, 2020
Funster No
MH
Adria matrix
Exp
13 years
Just removed my Thetford N4000 fridge ( almost identical to N3000 range and in fact was a direct replacement for the original N3175 unit which failed/lost its gas and was changed under warranty ) in order to fit a temperature-controlled 12v fan under the finned assembly.
After removing the bottom grill on the outside you need to disconnect the Gas pipe to the fridge ( turn off the gas supply first ! ). Loosening the gas valve support screw gives enough movement to disconnect the gas connection.
Unplug the 12v and 240v plug/sockets that lay in the bottom under the gas pipe/gas valve.
Remove the 6 white screw caps and screws on the inside front of the fridge/freezer ( 3 screws on each side ).
The fridge is not normally bonded to the frame, there is just a sponge sealing strip right round the inside of the frame ( stuck to the inside of the frame - not the back of the fridge unit ) so the fridge can easily be pushed forward from outside the MH.