Floor Problem! (1 Viewer)

May 10, 2012
Portugal
Funster No
MH
Don’t own one.
Exp
Since 2006(1986 VW T25)
I have a double floor so cannot see from underneath what is happening. I have a soft area of floor in front of kitchen sink, I have removed floor covering all the ply looks good and dry, the soft area is a section along where two sheets of ply meet, about 2ft long coming away from the sink and about 1ft wide. Now I am no diy expert so was wondering if I could just cut this section out and replace it.
My first prom would be what is under this part of floor? What if I cut through a joist? and (I am sure you will come up with other problems) how would I support the new piece of flooring in such a high traffic area. All advice will be GREATLY received.

ambulancekidd

Funster
Sep 23, 2014
Ayrshire Scotland
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 640
Exp
Since 1964 Gosh that makes me feel old.
Classic floor delamination. Sika-Flex & look up instructions on line. I cant quite remember which Sika-Flex you'll need.

Robert.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
you use a 2 part resin and inject it into multiple holes drilled in the plywood. once set the ply then bonds back to the insulation and becomes firm again. look for delamination repair kits

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
you use a 2 part resin and inject it into multiple holes drilled in the plywood. once set the ply then bonds back to the insulation and becomes firm again. look for delamination repair kits

Most double floor vans have a plain plywood floor.
The 'basement' floor is the insulated sandwich one.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Most double floor vans have a plain plywood floor.
The 'basement' floor is the insulated sandwich one.