Flat battery causes (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
So... went to get th van today and it wouldn't start.

It almost turned over first time and then second time nothing. Assuming this must be flat battery.

We have had it for a few months with no battery problems.
I last drove it two weeks ago - although I went to see it one week ago and started the engine just to check it was ok (!) but didn't drive it.
I am guessing that was a bad move as starting it will have drained the battery and then not driving will not have replaced that charge.

Is this normal though - for battery to be flat after just that?

Only other thing I noticed was that I had left the electrical control panel on in the habitation area and there may have been one or two lights on in the hab area.
Aren't the habitation battery and the vehicle battery totally separate systems though?

Thanks so much for any help you can give.

Andy Bramhall

p.s. It is a 2007 N-B on an Iveco 3.0.

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
I have a 2008 van and have just changed my battery for the second time, they don't last forever.

Upvote 0

Zigisla

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 24, 2015
Gosport, Hants
Funster No
MH
Sunlight A72
Exp
Getting better month by month.
There are many variables that can cause a flat battery. Do you have an alarm and / or a tracker as these are big battery drainers? Also Radio memory can be a drain as is the clock. You are correct with Hab and Cab batteries being separate systems, so leaving the hab on will only flatten that one. Do you have solar? Cab batteries will flatten over a few weeks and many others on here have either solar connected to cab as well as hab, or they have a battery master system - I have one, that uses the hab to trickle charge the cab when needed.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
A
Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB