Fitting second Leisure Battery

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Smudger 41, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. Smudger 41

    Smudger 41 Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi i want to fit a second leisure battery in our motohome. The battery is under the drivers seat and another battery could be put under a seat behind which is close by.Is it just a case of extending cables from exsisting battery to new one ? Is there any thing else i need to know ???:Eeek:
     
  2. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as its the same capacity ie if 100ah then you would need another 100ah connect heavy duty cables + to+ and -to - , make sure they are secure job done

    regards
     
  3. buellster

    buellster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +4
    My van has a similar setup, I placed the 2nd battery in a box behind the passenger seat and used jump leads cut down to the correct length to connect both, + to+ and-_ to-. The battery box has 12v acs. sockets, the jump leads have a breaker plug so the battery box can be removed and used as an independent power source. We do a bit of wild camping and this arrangement worked very well last year. I also plug a solar panel into the battery box which charges both batteries. It has been a good reasonably cheap way of supplying power.
     
  4. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,714
    2nd battery

    Hi I fitted a second battery to my bessacar 465 all that was needed was 2 extention leads from each terminal, and I screwed a frame to the round the battery for secureity, I hope this helps but remember both batteries will have to be match. :thumb:

    peter
     
  5. The vagabond

    The vagabond

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Ratings:
    +0
    second battery

    I have done this too, please remember.......the fumes given off by batteries are explosive, so it should be properly vented.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    32,824
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +27,537
    a few posts mention using battery jump lead sized cable.

    i use 50 amp stranded cable, around 1 mtr long. its only about 1/8" > 3/16" thick.(conductor size)

    from a safety aspect, fit a fuse at each end of the pos cable, if this cable chafes or gets damaged and shorts to earth it will produce FIRE.

    i use 30 amp blade fuses in proper holders fitted close to the battery terminals.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  7. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0


    To pass a BSC battery link cables etc must be a minimum of 25sq.mm thickness which is about 170amp capacity. However, I think most people go a little thicker my links are 40sq.mm . In most 12V systems rather than just considering capacity resistance also is an important factor in choosing the right cable.

    Regards
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice