Fitting extra leisure battery I6571 easy ? (1 Viewer)

JimboT

Free Member
Nov 6, 2013
Welwyn Garden City
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Ok we only have one leisure battery is it easy to fit another battery ?
And if so do i need to add another charger.
Does the battery need to be the same as one in there or can it be different AH?
Thanks
jim

Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
hi jim it isn't hard to fit spare leisure battery but where is your original bud
if you are going to use one of your looker or garage use the thickest wire you can get use good quality connections and just wire it up positive to positive negative to negative and you will have extra stored power I have three lesser battery's and a solar panel and never want for 12v now
it depends if you do a lot of off grid
I am sur that there will be someone along soon to advise you there are lodes who have done this
bill

Last edited:
Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
Ok we only have one leisure battery is it easy to fit another battery ?
And if so do i need to add another charger.
Does the battery need to be the same as one in there or can it be different AH?
Thanks
jim

ok you must have upset someone I have never seen a post this neglected

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
Adding a second leisure battery is a simple case of finding a suitable spot as near the original as possible and connecting up as Bill said.

however it is best practice to make sure both batteries are the same age and condition, add a good new battery to an old tired one and it will not perform as well and if the old one fails it will kill the new one too.

you can mix amp/hour sizes and thats no huge problem as the charger will see just one large battery combined. always best to fit as powerful a battery as will fit the space