Fitted air-suspension

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Steve and Lou, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. Steve and Lou

    Steve and Lou

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi all
    Fitted air-suspension last night and have a question for those of you who use it.
    Do you let the pressure out when you are not using the van or leave it pumped up?
     
  2. grasscutter

    grasscutter Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,439
    Location:
    East Wittering. West Sussex.
    Ratings:
    +2,806
    Leave it pumped up.(y)
     
  3. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,223
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ratings:
    +2,590
    I was advised to leave at least 2bar, otherwise the bellows could split
     
  4. laurieash

    laurieash Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    HALIFAX
    Ratings:
    +595
    Hi thinking of having it fitted to my autotrail was it expensive?
     
  5. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Wherever the Hymer happens to be
    Ratings:
    +853
    The data for my air suspension states that you must have at least 1 bar at all times. I leave mine at my 'normal' running pressure.
     
  6. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,399
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    Cannot see the point in letting it down, you only have to pump it back up next time.
    Minimum Dunlop recommend is 1 bar and I can see that, as to remove all air would allow the bellows to collapse and rest on each other, and if left for some time could they stick together?
     
  7. Steve and Lou

    Steve and Lou

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +13
    I fitted it myself and it cost £440.00 with compressor and gauges from TL TECH
     
  8. Neckender

    Neckender Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Neckend or Benidorm
    Ratings:
    +3,460
    I leave our VB air suspension inflated, and instructions say not to drive under .5 bar.

    On our last van I fitted Dunlop A/S from Marcle leisure and the instructions said that you must release air pressure if jacking vehicle up at the rear.

    The instructions with our VB suspension doesn't mention this.

    John.
     
  9. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,515
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +5,899
    It would make sense to do so otherwise the air bags may over-extend. Assuming you're jacking the body rather than the axle of course.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Trikeman

    Trikeman

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    North Somerrzet.
    Ratings:
    +2,762
    Same here (except from Marcle) - a really easy job (as long as fit, healthy and can crawl around under Moho) and interesting too. Works superb on our Autotrail Apache 700 - instant benefits all round.

    Don't think I could go back to one without it. Shame you're in Halifax, if you were down this way I would do it for you.(y)

    Leave ours at running pressure between trips but drop it down to about 2 bar when laid up. Agree, if jacking don't let axle weight 'hang' on air bags/spring travel.

    Regards,

    Trikeman.;)
     
  11. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,438
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +13,843
    I have the Goldschmidt system with onboard compressor already fitted(8 months before) when I bought the van and usually leave it minimum 2 bar then when the m/bike goes on the back ,put it up to 3.5bar quite a cumfy ride at that :)
     
  12. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,414
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,772
    I fitted mine at the weekend. It was really easy to fit even to the mercedes chasis. I had at least 3 funsters offering advice @drago35uk @Ockerron and @mitzimad all of them laying on their backs doing various things whilst I looked at it.

    What amazed me was the difference on the way home, much stiffer ride home really good and well impressed. Mine are from the Czhek repulic, £259 for the full kit, no compressor but you don't need one, blow it up and leave it. ;)

    any one want's advice on fitting, ask away. I'm an expert on the subject:mad::pinocchio:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. mpdcymru

    mpdcymru Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Ammanford
    Ratings:
    +833
    Never had it less than 1.5 bar since we have had the van (though that is only a little over a year). No plans to lay it up for more than a fortnight so that issue, hopefully, will not arise.
     
  14. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,881
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    Ratings:
    +5,700
    If jacking the rear up can damage the bags they should come with check straps
     
  15. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +244
    Paul do you have a link for where yours is from, also did you sort your stairs out?

    Karl
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,414
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,772
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. laurieash

    laurieash Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    HALIFAX
    Ratings:
    +595
    [QUOTintrested were did you wire the compressor into?="Trikeman, post: 1529410, member: 22516"]Same here (except from Marcle) - a really easy job (as long as fit, healthy and can crawl around under Moho) and interesting too. Works superb on our Autotrail Apache 700 - instant benefits all round.

    Don't think I could go back to one without it. Shame you're in Halifax, if you were down this way I would do it for you.(y)

    Leave ours at running pressure between trips but drop it down to about 2 bar when laid up. Agree, if jacking don't let axle weight 'hang' on air bags/spring travel.

    Regards,

    Trikeman.;)[/QUOTE]
    Very I
     
  18. laurieash

    laurieash Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    HALIFAX
    Ratings:
    +595
    1532316, member: 29917"][QUOTintrested were did you wire the compressor into?="Trikeman, post: 1529410, member: 22516"]Same here (except from Marcle) - a really easy job (as long as fit, healthy and can crawl around under Moho) and interesting too. Works superb on our Autotrail Apache 700 - instant benefits all round.
    Hi very intrested were did you wire the compressor into?
    also did you fit the compressor under the seat.
    looked at the site but there pitctures are not very good.
    Don't think I could go back to one without it. Shame you're in Halifax, if you were down this way I would do it for you.(y)

    Leave ours at running pressure between trips but drop it down to about 2 bar when laid up. Agree, if jacking don't let axle weight 'hang' on air bags/spring travel.

    Regards,

    Trikeman.;)[/QUOTE]
    Very I[/QUOTE]
    Hi somthing went wro
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  19. laurieash

    laurieash Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    HALIFAX
    Ratings:
    +595
    My reply has got mixed in with the above post.
     
  20. laurieash

    laurieash Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    HALIFAX
    Ratings:
    +595
    Were did you pick up your wiring was there some under the seat?
    did you fit the compressor under the seat also.
     
Loading...

Share This Page