First time motorhomers, 5 month trip in Europe for family of 4 - advice needed! (1 Viewer)

Linky

Free Member
Jan 6, 2017
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Don't own yet
Exp
Hello everyone! We are a family of four planning a five month trip in a motorhome, starting this April. The kids are in primary school and will miss one term. On balance, we think any disruption will be inconsequential compared to a few months of family time, an outdoor life, new languages, food, people etc. They are finding school stressful and overwhelming at times, and we long to let them run free and be (sort of) masters of their own destiny, even for a few weeks! Anyway, we've been looking at new or newish Autotrail Apache, or maybe a Dethleffs A class. We are complete newbies and are visiting the dealership nearby to talk through the options. And I have so many questions for the more experienced motorhomers! 1st:, we'd love to do a bit of wild camping where possible, or at least farm stays etc. I don't want to be looking over my shoulder all the time or irritating locals, though. Apart from general courtesy and commonsense we (hopefully) possess, are there any useful; maps, guides etc we can buy to help us? 2nd: guides, maps, resources, cards for campsites - hit list to go for? 3rd: We really want something that won't get stuck on narrow roads, etc, easy-ish to handle. Recommendations on make/model? 4th: this is a biggie so may need to look at other topics, but itinerary: We need to be in Lazio, near Rome for a family get together on 15th August. We also want to visit friends and family in Holland, Denmark, Sweden & Norway. I think April will be too chilly in Scandi in April/May, so was thinking of ferrying down to Santander/Bilbao, spending some time in Northern Portugal, then meandering up to Holland and on to Denmark, Sweden and Norway - where I think we will spend a good chunk of time. Then slowly down to Italy, our last stop before home. Is this too much in too little time? Thinking maybe sk