Realist

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 4, 2018
Wales last time I checked.
Funster No
MH
Caravan: Buccaneer
Exp
Caravan before 2000 / Motorhome From 2018 to 22 / Now Caravan again.
I’m new to all this and not yet used our little Ford Squire Herald CK yes the old man is 20 years old, noisy but they last for ever...... well.

I’ve been thinking the same as others and drive to Spain I’m used to driving the wrong side of the road but what puts me off is the time it takes to get to Southern Spain, driving, costs, wear and tear, food, spends etc etc comparing it to just jumping on a plane and 2hrs later your there.

Having not done it before does anyone have idea of costs involved, how long for each journey there and back like what would you say is the minimum you would attempt to do the trip for example, 2 days to get there, 7 days stay and 2 days back that’s 11 and adding the costs is it worth it?

Brian

Feb 26, 2013
derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Autocruise stargazer
Exp
since 2013
Not sure about costs as there are so many variables : ferry route; tolls v non toll roads; how long you want to drive each day. On one of our first trips abroad we took about 10 days to get to the south of Spain and were away for a couple of months. I doubt if it would make economic sense for too short a trip. Driving abroad is surprisingly easy so I wouldn't worry too much about that aspect. Good luck whatever you decide to do.

Feb 9, 2008
Corby, Northants
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Since 2007
You may find this helpful. However, forget about southern Spain in 2 days. (Besides, for winter you only need go as far as Benidorm as it does not get much warmer and drier further south in the winter), more like 5 days steady driving, each way.